Gordon, Ortiz, Zych Named to All-New England Team by Sportswriters

Gordon, Ortiz, Zych Named to All-New England Team by Sportswriters

BOSTON, Mass. – Harvard University placed three players on the Football Championship Subdivision All-New England team as selected by the New England Football Writers. Senior defensive back Collin Zych (Plano, Texas), senior running back Gino Gordon (Bonita, Calif.) and junior defensive tackle Josue Ortiz (Miami, Fla.) were all named to the team.

The team, which represents 12 schools, will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 9 at the Montvale Plaza in Stoneham, Mass.

Dartmouth's Shawn Abuhoff is one of nine juniors to make the squad, and is the only member to make his second-consecutive appearance on the team. The squad of 30 features 20 seniors along with nine juniors and one sophomore. Four conferences are represented with the Ivy League leading the way with 13 players, followed by the Colonial Athletic Association with 10. The Northeast Conferences has five players represented, and the Patriot League adds a pair.

Gordon, Zych and Ortiz were all previously named to the All-Ivy league first team with Zych and Ortiz being the lone unanimous selections on the defensive side of the ball.

Gordon ran for 1,059 yards this season, the seventh-highest single-season mark at Harvard. He led the Ivy League at 6.3 yards per carry and became just the fifth player at Harvard to record 10 rushing touchdowns in a single season. For his career, he ran for 2,643 yards – the fourth-highest mark in school annals. He ran for 23 touchdowns and had 25 scores in all. Gordon will graduate as Harvard's all-time leader in yards per carry at 5.3. 

Zych turned in another tremendous season as Harvard's defensive leader. He tied for the team lead with 79 tackles this season and ranked third in the Ivy League in total passes defended with 12. Last year he led the league with 14 pass defenses. He finishes his career with 224 total tackles, 10.5 for a loss, six interceptions and 27 pass breakups.

Ortiz led the Ivy League in both sacks (7.5) and tackles for a loss (13.5), becoming just the second defensive tackle at Harvard to lead his team in those categories. He also ranked third overall with 54 total tackles. He recorded at least one tackle behind the line of scrimmage in all but two games this season.

2010 All-New England Football Team

OL       Mike Allison              Central Conn.        Sr.
OL       Patrick Conroy           Brown                    Sr.
OL       Greg Niland                Massachusetts        Sr.
OL       Mike McCabe             Holy Cross             Sr.
OL       Ryan O'Neill              Dartmouth             Jr.
RB       Jordan Brown             Bryant                    So.
RB       Gino Gordon             Harvard                Sr.

RB       Nick Schwieger          Dartmouth             Jr.
QB       Dale Fink                   Sacred Heart          Sr.
WR      Terrance Fox              New Hampshire     Sr.
WR      Anthony Nelson         Massachusetts        Sr.
WR      Alexander Tounkara  Brown                    Sr.
TE        Derek Buttles             Maine                    Jr.

DL       Victor Adesanya        Rhode Island         Sr.
DL       Charles Bay                Dartmouth             Sr.
DL       Tom McCarthy           Yale                       Sr.
DL       Brian McNally            New Hampshire     Jr.
DL       Josue Ortiz                Harvard                Jr.

LB       Matt Hansen               Rhode Island         Sr.
LB       Jordan Haynes           Yale                       Jr.
LB       Tyler Holmes             Massachusetts        Jr.
LB       Sean Lamkin              Holy Cross             Sr. 
LB       Jason Riffe                 Bryant                    Sr.
DB       Adam Money             Yale                       Sr.
DB       Hugo Souza                New Hampshire     Sr.
DB       Dino Vasso                New Hampshire     Sr.
DB       Collin Zych                Harvard                Sr.

RS        Shawn Abuhoff         Dartmouth             Jr.
PK       Joe Izzo                      Central Conn.        Sr.
P          Nate Lovett                Brown                    Jr.