Splinter Honored on CFPA FCS Defensive Back Award Watch List

Chris Splinter in action during a 31-3 non-conference win at Lafayette on Oct. 1, 2011

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in Division I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Football Championship Subdivision Defensive Back Award.

Rising senior Chris Splinter, who hails from Middleton, Mass., received a spot on the preliminary watch list highlights 36 returning performers, vying for the top individual defensive back award in the FCS.

"Congratulations to Chris Splinter on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Splinter returns to Harvard after leading the Ivy League in interceptions per game in 2012."

Splinter joins rising junior defensive end Zach Hodges and rising senior tight end Cameron Brate on the 2013 CFPA Watch List. All three players are expected to have signifcant roles in the upcoming football season under Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach for Harvard Football.

Splinter was a second team All-Ivy League choice last season and garnered all-conference first team accolades by He led Harvard with five interceptions for 103 return yards in 2012. Splinter had two picks for 72 yards in the 69-0 win over Columbia

Two former Harvard scholar-athletes have earned CFPA honors: Kyle Juszczyk (2011 CFPA Elite Tight End Award) and Colton Chapple (2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy and 2012 CFPA Quarterback Award).

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL defensive backs include: Earl Thomas (Texas), Patrick Peterson (LSU), Mark Barron (Alabama), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Phillip Thomas (Fresno State), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Cliff Harris (Oregon), Javier Arenas (Alabama), Trumaine Johnson (Montana), Asa Jackson (Cal Poly), Laron Scott (Georgia Southern), Anthony Walters (Delaware), DeAndre Presley (Appalachian State), Justin Bethel (Presbyterian), Korey Lindsey (Southern Illinois), Mark LeGree, (Appalachian State), and Ryan Steed (Furman).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.