loki/tinymce : /sports/fball/2013-14/releases/20131016_Hodges : 20131016 Hodges : zeoko0al3mbj76h3



Hodges Added to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

Zach Hodges has made 8.5 tackles for a loss this season (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- Junior defensive end Zach Hodges of the No. 25 Harvard football team has been added to the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List.

The All-America candidate from Atlanta, Ga., is eligible for the 19th annual award given to the nation's premiere defensive standout. 

Hodges, who leads Harvard with 8.5 tackles for a loss this year, has made three fumble recoveries and one interception. In the season opener at San Diego Sept. 21, Hodges recovered a fumble and ran 51 yards for a touchdown. He is tied for Crimson lead with 4.5 sacks, has forced two fumbles and has recorded 19 tackles overall.

Other nominees on the Buchanan Award Watch List are: defensive linemen Brad Daly of Montana State, Antoine Lewis of Villanova, Caraun Reid of Princeton, Robert Simpson of Mississippi Valley State, Davis Tull of Chattanooga and Colton Underwood of Illinois State; linebackers Quinn Backus of Coastal Carolina, Clarence Bumpus of Northern Colorado, Ronnie Hamlin of Eastern Washington, Grant Olson of North Dakota State, Stephon Robertson of James Madison, Alvin Scioneaux of Wofford, Tyler Starr of South Dakota and Jordan Tripp of Montana; defensive backs Stephen Godbolt III of Tennessee State, Jestin Love of Central Arkansas, Caleb Schaffitzel of Missouri State, Jaquiski Tartt of Samford and Marcus Williams of North Dakota State. 

Other players considered for the Watch List: Chattanooga linebacker Wes Dothard; Gardner-Webb defensive end Shaquille Riddick; Samford linebacker Justin Shade; South Carolina State linebacker Joe Thomas; and Montana defensive end Zack Wagenmann. 

The Buchanan Award Watch List can undergo revision during the season. Ballots will be sent to a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season. The winner will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation Dec. 16 in Philadelphia. 

The Sports Network also presents the Walter Payton, Jerry Rice and Eddie Robinson Awards. The Payton Award honors the outstanding player in the FCS, the Rice Award goes to the FCS freshman of the year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS coach of the year. The top three vote-getters for the Payton Award as well as the winners of Rice and Robinson awards also will be invited to the national banquet.