Brate Earns FCS ADA Academic Distinction

Cameron Brate made 18 touchdown catches during his career in Cambridge (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Senior tight end Cameron Brate of the Harvard football team is one of 43 players named to the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team.

“The FCS ADA is honored to present this prestigious award to our football student-athletes each year,” stated FCS ADA President Brian Hutchinson, director of athletics, Morehead State University. “Each year, these young men epitomize the definition of student-athlete, both in the classroom and on the field. Our Association is pleased to recognize their accomplishments annually.”

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Brate, who hails from Napervill, Ill., is an economics concentrator and was tabbed a candidate for the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award and was a semifinalist for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation.

Brate, who was tabbed unanimously to the All-Ivy League first team, finished second on the Crimson with 25 receptions for 403 yards and five touchdowns. In the 34-7 win at Yale, Brate made three catches for 91 yards and concluded his four-year stint at Harvard fourth in program history with 18 career TDs.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

The 43 members of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team are listed here.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 21st year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit