Lin Named Finalist For Bob Cousy Award

Pictured: Jeremy Lin is one of 11 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award and one of 20 finalists for the John R. Wooden Award. 

Harvard's Jeremy Lin is one of 11 finalists named to the Bob Cousy Award, presented by the Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. in coordination with the Basketball Hall of Fame.

This annual award is given to college basketball's top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy. An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

On Monday, Lin was named one of 20 players to be named as one of the top 30 candidates for the John R. Wooden Award, the nation's most coveted college basketball honor, were named today by The Los Angeles Athletic Club's John R. Wooden Award Committee

Entering play at Santa Clara Monday night, Lin was averaging 18.3 points per game (third Ivy), 5.1 rebounds (ninth), 54 percent shooting (fourth; first among guards), 4.4 assists (third), 2.8 steals (first), 1.3 blocks (fourth, only guard ranked), 1.2 assist-turnover ratio (sixth) and 3.9 defensive rebounds (fifth). 

In his homecoming to the Bay Area, Lin (Palo Alto, Calif.) recorded game-highs of nine assists and three steals while blocking two hosts, scoring six points and hauling down four rebounds. His return to the area resulted in the first ever sellout for a nonconference game at the Leavey Center (4,700) and the second biggest crowd in Santa Clara history.

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartfordwill be narrowed down to 10 players by February 1st and than further to five players by March 1st. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday April 5th in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas) and Ty Lawson (North Carolina). For more information on the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, log onto

Bob Cousy Award Finalists
Chris Warren, Ole Miss
Denis Clemente, Kansas State
Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati
Devan Downey, South Carolina
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
Jeremy Lin, Harvard
Jerome Randle, Cal
John Wall, Kentucky
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Kemba Walker, Connecticut
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech
Manny Harris, Michigan
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Nic Wise, Arizona
Ronald Moore, Siena
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Sherron Collins, Kansas
Talor Battle, Penn State
Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin