Curry, Chambers Named to 2014 Cousy Award Watch List

Curry and Chambers have been named among the top point guards in the country (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Senior captain Brandyn Curry and sophomore Siyani Chambers have been named to the watch list for the for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today.

Curry and Chambers are among 50 student-athletes named to the list which was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball.

Curry is a two-time All-Ivy League second team selection and is a two-time Academic All-Ivy League pick. He was also a candidate for the 2012 Cousy Award when he led the Crimson to its second straight Ancient Eight title, a program record 26 wins and the school's first NCAA Tournament berth since 1946. The Huntersville, N.C., native averaged 7.9 ppg and 4.9 apg as a junior, and ranked 18th in the NCAA in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.55).

Chambers became the first freshman to be named to the All-Ivy League first team a year ago and was the unanimous selection for Rookie of the Year. The newcomer led the Ancient Eight in assists (5.7), ranked sixth in scoring (12.4), and was fifth in the nation in minutes (37.8). Chambers efforts helped Harvard to a third straight conference crown and second straight trip to March Madness, where the Crimson knocked off third-seeded New Mexico to advance to the Round of 32.

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

"The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court."

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year's recipient Trey Burke (Michigan).

For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, click here.