Perfect Dual Season, HYP Title at Stake for No. 1 Harvard Lights Saturday

Harvard will seek its third straight HYP title Saturday.
Harvard will seek its third straight HYP title Saturday.

Seeking to complete its third straight perfect dual season, the top-ranked Harvard lightweight crew takes on its arch rivals, No. 3 Yale and No. 6 Princeton, Saturday on the Housatonic River in Derby, Conn. The teams are seeking the Goldthwait Cup, awarded to the winner of the HYP varsity race and the Vogel Cup for the HYP team championship.

Best of the Best
Saturday's final race pits Harvard, which has defeated 26 consecutive dual opponents against the teams that have won the last two national championships, Yale (in 2011) and Princeton (in 2010). In the latest EARC lightweight polls, Harvard (varsity eight, second freshman eight), Yale (second varsity eight) and Princeton (freshman eight) all hold at least one No. 1 ranking.

Racing Schedule
10 a.m. – Second freshman eight
10:20 a.m. – Third varsity eight
10:40 a.m. – Freshman eight
11 a.m. – Second varsity eight
11:20 a.m. – Varsity eight

Watch From Home
Live video of the races is scheduled to be available here.

Last Weekend
Harvard (7-0) made the most of a busy Saturday in the Mid-Atlantic, winning seven of nine races, including both varsity events, and setting a course record over the course of two regattas in different states. The Crimson started the day in Annapolis, Md., where it took three of five races and the Haines Cup from No. 8 Navy. The Harvard varsity then posted a course-record time of 5:37.0 to top No. 3 Georgetown by 4.5 seconds in an afternoon race at Princeton. The Crimson swept all four races against the Hoyas, with the second varsity and freshman eights winning their second races of the day.

Last Season
The host Crimson varsity eight built a four-seat lead in the third 500 meters and held off No. 1 Princeton by a second on the Charles River. Harvard topped Yale by 4.8 seconds and also won the second varsity race and Vogel Cup. The Bulldogs claimed victory in the third varsity and freshman races. Video of the varsity race can be seen here.

History Lesson
Harvard has won the Goldthwait Cup 42 times, including six times in the last nine years. Princeton (25 wins) won in 2008 and '09, while Yale (19 wins) last took the trophy in 2006. The Crimson's second-place finish in 2009 was its last dual loss. The cup was first presented in 1925 but was awarded retroactively back to 1922, the year of the first HYP lightweight race.

Scouting the Opposition
Host Yale (6-1) will be looking to bounce back after suffering its first loss, at the hands of Dartmouth, last weekend. The Bulldogs took three of four races but fell from No. 2 to No. 3 in the national poll following the loss to the Big Green.

Princeton (4-3) is coming off a second-place finish, ahead of Penn and behind Georgetown, last weekend. It was the Tigers' second loss to the Hoyas this season, and their other defeat came against Cornell, currently ranked fifth. Princeton also owns wins against Columbia, MIT and Navy.

Probable Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Angela Chang, 8: Florian Mayr, 7: Alex Newell, 6: Tim Moore, 5: Nicholas Gates, 4: Stuart Taylor, 3: Erich Schultze, 2: Matt O'Leary, 1: Michael Wales

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: Alex Saal, 8: Craig Herron, 7: Tom Nesel, 6: Michael Paresky, 5: AJ Carvalho, 4: Simon Maas, 3: Benjamin Hughes, 2: Cam Heron, 1: Zachary Connerton,

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Paul Farber, 8: Gabriel Lloyd, 7: Matt Gibbons, 6: Michael Velchik, 5: Joey Wall, 4: Kevin Connolly, 3: Jamie Ashton, 2: Collin Rees, 1: Yoan N'Komba

Freshman Eight
Cox: Jonathan Shpall, 8: Nicolai Astrop Wiik, 7: Christopher Magnani, 6: Alexander Bonorris, 5: Timothy McLaughlin, 4: Robert Hawthorne, 3: Jonathan Young, 2: Connor Mangan, 1: Malte Zopfs

Second Freshman Eight
Cox: Alexander Spencer, 8: Matthew Pawlwoski, 7: Nelson Arnous, 6: Eli Leavitt, 5: Stefan Skalbania, 4: Owen Senders, 3: Edward McKlveen, 2: Sam Barrington, 1: Ross Svenson