@HarvardCrimson Harvard Edu

Crimson Players Honored for Academics

bullet ECAC Hockey Release (PDF)

ALBANY, N.Y. – Thirteen members of the Harvard men’s hockey team have been selected to this year's ECAC All-Academic team, announced Tuesday by the league office. The 2008-09 All-Academic team is comprised of 167 total players from throughout the league.

The Crimson was led by three three-time honorees, captains Jimmy Fraser, Brian McCafferty and junior John Riley. Fraser concentrates in psychology, while McCafferty studies economics and Riley is a history concentrator.

Two-time honorees include senior Steve Rolecek, concentrating in economics, and sophomore Michael Del Mauro, who is studying government.

Those five were joined by senior Nick Coskren (economics), juniors Alex Biega (sociology), Doug Rogers (economics) and Ian Tallett (government) and freshmen Ryan Grimshaw, Eric Kroshus, Alex Leinberry and Colin Moore

Harvard had the third-highest total of selections in the Ivy League, trailing only Brown (24) and Dartmouth (15).