Fourteen Men’s Hockey Players Honored for Academics

Riley was honored for his academic achievement with the Francis H. Burr Scholarship at the 2010 Senior Letterwinners' Dinner.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Fourteen members of the Harvard men’s hockey team have been named to the 2009-10 ECAC Hockey All-Academic team, the conference has announced.

Senior John Riley, a history concentrator and Harvard’s ECAC Student-Athlete of the Year nominee, earned his fourth straight selection to the All-Academic squad. Juniors Michael Del Mauro, who concentrates in government, and Kyle Richter, an economics concentrator, earned their third academic selections.

Six other players were repeat honorees: seniors Doug Rogers (economics) and Ian Tallett (government) and sophomores Ryan Grimshaw (economics), Eric Kroshus (neurobiology), Alex Leinberry (economics) and Colin Moore (sociology). Senior Chad Morin (sociology), junior Matt McCollem (psychology), sophomore Rence Coassin (sociology) and freshmen Louis Leblanc (undeclared) and David Valek (undeclared) were also honored.

Among Ivy League schools, Harvard trailed only Brown (28) and Dartmouth (17) in its number of academic honorees. Princeton also had 14 selections, while Cornell totaled 14 and Yale 11.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade-point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.