Mark Fusco ’83 Named to ECAC Hockey Top-50 List

ALBANY, N.Y.—Hobey Baker-winning defenseman Mark Fusco'83 has been named one of the top 50 players in league history, ECAC Hockey announced Thursday.

As part of its 50th-anniversary celebration, ECAC Hockey has compiled a group of its top 50 players to recognize the storied history of the league and honor its significant players. The league released Thursday the first installment of five honorees. The top 50 players were determined by a selection committee made up of former coaches and media members, who selected the honorees from 145 nominees (47 defensemen, 73 forwards, 25 goaltenders).

The first segment of honorees: Fusco, the first defenseman to be named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year and to win the Hobey Baker Award; forward Bob Brinkworth, a two-time ECAC Hockey Player of the Year who ranks third in NCAA history with 1.54 goals per game; Ken Dryden, goaltender at Cornell, a three-time All-American and all-league selection who guided the Big Red to the 1967 ECAC and NCAA titles; Brian Mueller, defenseman at Clarkson, a two-time All-America selection who amassed over 150 points during his career; and Boston College forward Joe Mullen, a two-time all-league pick who was part of the 1970-79 ECAC Hockey All-Decade squad.

Fusco began his career by earning selection as ECAC Rookie of the Year for the 1979-80 season. He was an All-America selection in each of the next three seasons, culminating in 1982-83, when he led Harvard to the NCAA title game and received the Hobey Baker Award as the top player in college hockey. He was awarded the Tudor Cup as Harvard's most valuable player, was the 1983 recipient of the Bingham Award as Harvard's top male athlete and was inducted into the Beanpot Hall of Fame in 1997.

Fusco holds Crimson career records for career goals (44) and points (135) by a defenseman. He played on the U.S. Olympic Team in 1984, the U.S. National Team in 1985 and the U.S. National Junior Team in 1981. He played two seasons with the National Hockey League's Hartford Whalers.

All current and former teams' impactful players were reviewed in comprising the list of candidates for the special team. Five players from the top 50 all-time team will be released every two weeks throughout the season leading up the league championship semifinals and final March 18-19 in Atlantic City, N.J.

"We are extremely proud and honored to recognize the outstanding individuals who are the fabric of our great League and its tremendous history, " said Steve Hagwell, commissioner, ECAC Hockey. "While we will recognize the accomplishments of an extraordinary group of 50 individuals over the course of the year, the league pays tribute to the countless student-athletes, coaches, administrators and staff who have contributed significantly to building the foundation of the league over the course of 50 years."

Hagwell added, "The selection of 50 players was an extremely difficult task given the vast number of deserving candidates. We truly are indebted to the individuals who comprise the selection committee for their valuable insight and great work."

The top 50 players were determined by a vote of a selection committee of 10 individuals: Joe Bertagna '73, former student-athlete at Harvard, former hockey commissioner of the ECAC and current commissioner of Hockey East; Ed Carpenter, former sports information director at Boston University; Bill Cleary '56, former student-athlete, head coach and director of athletics at Harvard; John Connolly, longtime sports reporter at the Boston Herald; Dan Fridgen, former student-athlete at Colgate and head coach at Rensselaer; Mike Gilligan, former head coach at Yale and Vermont; Lou Lamoriello, former student-athlete and head coach at Providence and current CEO, president and general manager of the New Jersey Devils; Mark Morris, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at Clarkson; Tim Taylor '63, former student-athlete at Harvard and head coach at Yale; and Adam Wodon, editor of the College Hockey News website.