Ted Donato ’91 Named a Finalist for ECAC Coach of the Year

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Ted Donato ’91, the Robert D. Ziff ’88 Head Coach for Harvard Men’s Ice Hockey, has been named one of three finalists for the Tim Taylor Award as ECAC Hockey’s coach of the year, the league office announced Tuesday.

Joining Donato as finalists for the honor, named for former Harvard captain and Yale head coach Tim Taylor ’63, are Union’s Rick Bennett and Casey Jones of Clarkson. The winner will be announced at the league’s awards banquet March 15 in Atlantic City, N.J. The finalists and winner were selected by voting by the 12 ECAC Hockey head coaches.

Donato led Harvard to a 10-8-11 record and 8-5-9 conference mark to finish third in ECAC Hockey after the league coaches picked the Crimson seventh and voting media members chose Harvard 12th in the preseason league polls. Donato’s Crimson squad lost just once in its final 11 ECAC games and came from behind to win or tie 17 times during the regular season.

Harvard has boasted the nation’s top-rated power play for most of the season and currently stands second nationally in that category. Another key to the Crimson’s success has been the integration of a large group of inexperienced players into the lineup. Donato’s team has seen contributions from eight freshman skaters and has gotten strong play from a corps of goaltenders who entered the season having combined for one collegiate start.

The Crimson and sixth-seeded Yale will face off in a best-of-three ECAC Hockey Championship quarterfinal series this weekend at Bright Hockey Center. Tickets are available here.