@HarvardCrimson Harvard Edu

Vesey Named 2013 Ivy League Rookie of the Year

Jimmy Vesey is Harvard's 13th Ivy League Rookie of the Year (Gil Talbot).

After turning in a stellar first season with the Harvard men’s hockey team, freshman forward Jimmy Vesey was named Ivy League Rookie of the Year, the league announced Thursday. Teammate Danny Biega also received recognition from the league, being named to the All-Ivy League second team.

Vesey is Harvard’s 13th Ivy League Rookie of the Year award recipient and first since Louis Leblanc captured the honor in 2010. Harvard leads the league with its 13 rookie of the year selections, and is the only Ancient Eight school with more than 10 such honors to its credit. 

The North Reading, Mass., native completed a strong regular season with the Crimson in 2012-13, skating in 24 of 29 games. His 11 goals were tied for the team lead and he ranked second on the squad with 18 points on the season. Vesey captured three ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Week awards, was named ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Month for November and received AHCA honorable mention for National Rookie of the Month for November. He finished the regular season tied for the lead in rookie scoring in ECAC games with 15 points on nine goals and six helpers, and his nine goals represented 20 percent of Harvard’s goals in ECAC play. In nine Ivy League games, Vesey picked up four points on a goal and three assists.

Biega picked up the third All-Ivy League honor of his career with the selection to the all-league second team. Biega skated in all 29 contests for the Crimson this season, and regularly logged the most minutes on the team during games. A finalist for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award, Biega finished the regular season with nine points on two goals and seven assists, with two of those helpers coming during Ivy League play. Biega is the 120th captain of Harvard men’s hockey.

Vesey, Biega and the rest of the squad will return to action this weekend in a first-round playoff series at Ivy rival Dartmouth. Game 1 begins Friday at 7 p.m., at Thompson Arena.



Andrew Miller, Yale (Sr., F - Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)



Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Fr., F - North Reading, Mass.)



Matt Lorito, Brown (So., F - Oakville, Ontario, Canada)

Greg Miller, Cornell (Sr., F - Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

Tyler Sikura, Dartmouth (So., F - Aurora, Ontario, Canada)

*Andrew Calof, Princeton (Jr., F - Nepean, Ontario, Canada)

*Andrew Miller, Yale (Sr., F - Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)

Dennis Robertson, Brown (Jr., D - Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada)

Mike Keenan, Dartmouth (Sr., D - South Weymouth, Mass.)

Michael Sdao, Princeton (Sr., D - Niwot, Colo.)

Anthony Borelli, Brown (Sr., G - Grand Island, N.Y.)



Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Jr., F - Winnetka, Ill.)

Kenny Agostino, Yale (Jr., F - Flanders, N.J.)

Antoine Laganiere, Yale (Sr., F - Ile Cadieux, Quebec, Canada)

Joakim Ryan, Cornell (So., D - Rumson, N.J.)

Danny Biega, Harvard (Sr., D - Montreal, Quebec, Canada)

Mike Condon, Princeton (Sr., G - Needham, Mass.)

Jeff Malcolm, Yale (Sr., G - Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada)



Tommy Fallen, Yale (So., D - Plymouth, Minn.)


* Unanimous Selection

^ Due to ties in the voting, the first and second teams were expanded from six