Men's Water Polo Presents Awards at Annual Banquet

Men's water polo seniors Alexandre Popp, Luka Babic, Evan Zepfel, Kevin DiSilvestro, Mike Katzer and head coach Ted Minnis spoke at Tuesday night's banquet.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard men's water polo team presented its awards for the 2011 season at the team's end-of-the-year banquet Tuesday night. Student-athletes, friends and coaches of Harvard water polo gathered as five honors were handed out and the 2012 team captains were named.

Max Eliot and William Roller will serve as the 2012 squad's captains. The duo will be Harvard's 61st and 62nd men's water polo captains since the program's beginning in 1980.

Eliot, who was also tabbed as the team's Most Valuable Player, was elected co-captain by his teammates after leading the Crimson with 44 goals in 2011. The junior from Studio City, Calif., was named to the All-CWPA Northern Division second-team for his efforts.

Roller finished second on the team in assists (22) and steals (22) during his sophomore campaign. The Redwood City, Calif., native scored a goal and had two assists to help the Crimson secure a 13-10 victory over Iona in the seventh-place game of the CWPA Eastern Championship this past season.

Along with honoring Eliot as the team's MVP, Thomas McNulty was named Most Improved, Max Murphy was selected as the Rookie of the Year and Michael Katzer took home the Coaches Award.

Evan Zepfel was presented the Peter Hursch '74 Memorial Award, which is presented annually to the Harvard water polo senior who embodies the spirit and tenacity of the award's namesake.

To purchase the photos shown in this release click here.

2011 Team Awards
Most Valuable Player:
Max Eliot
Most Improved: Thomas McNulty
Rookie of the Year: Max Murphy
Coaches Award: Michael Katzer
Peter Hursh: Evan Zepfel 

2012 Captains (below)
Max Eliot
William Roller