Skiing Yields 11 Student-Athletes on USCSCA National Collegiate All-Academic Ski Team

Akeo Maifeld-Carucci was one of 11 Harvard skiers named to the USCSCA All-Academic Team (Gil Talbot).

After completing the regular season in both the Nordic and alpine disciplines, the Harvard ski team had 11 of its members named to the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association (USCSCA) National Collegiate All-Academic Team, the organization announced Thursday. The Harvard contingent was comprised of six men and five women, and seven Nordic and four alpine skiers.

The 11 total skiers are tied for the third-most representatives from EISA Member schools, as New Hampshire led the way with 15 honorees.

The men’s alpine team honorees consisted of a freshman and two sophomores, as rookie James Stevenson and sophomores Simon Merryweather and Dan Rittenhouse were named to the team. Women’s alpine was represented by sophomore Samantha Udolf, while Chris Stock, Akeo Maifeld-Carucci and Ian Meyer of the men’s Nordic squad made the cut as well. Hanna Barnes, Rachel Hampton, Maggie McGovern and Jen Rolfes represented the women’s Nordic team.

The skiing season comes to a close next week as four Harvard student-athletes will represent the Crimson at the 2014 NCAA Skiing Championships in Park City, Utah, March 5-8.