Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Opens Home Slate vs. Dartmouth, Syracuse

Radcliffe Heavyweight Crew Opens Home Slate vs. Dartmouth, Syracuse

Radcliffe will race on its home course for the first time this spring (photo courtesy David Silverman).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—The Radcliffe heavyweight crew makes its 2010 home debut as it races No. 16 Dartmouth and Syracuse for the Elizabeth H. O’Leary Cup Saturday morning on the Charles River. Racing begins with the varsity eight at 9:36 a.m.

Racing Schedule
9:36 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Eight
10 a.m. – Heavyweight Second Varsity Eight
10:24 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Four A
10:48 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Four B
11:12 a.m. – Heavyweight Third Varsity Eight

Radcliffe Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Jill Carlson, 8: Kate Morris, 7: Christine Baugh, 6: Jennie Peterson, 5: Laura Huppert, 4: Mary Maginnis, 3: Rachel Knaster, 2: Meg Kehan, 1: Jessica Flakne

Second Varsity
Cox: Amanda Deutsch, 8: Molly Tarrant, 7: Michaela Pewarski, 6: Celia Kohl, 5: Tara Larson, 4: Shelley Pearson, 3: Jess Mealia, 2: Kirsten Van Fossen, 1: Liz Soutter

Varsity Four A
Cox: Rachel Rauh, 4: Eleanor Conover, 3: Ariel Delgado, 2: Katie O'Hanlon, 1: Scout Moran

Varsity Four B
Cox: Andrea Rickey, 4: Marisa D'Orsogna, 3: Mary Jackson, 2: Margot Leger, 1: Laura Savarese

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Jos Lai, 8: Alex Kuschner, 7: Sophie Bearman, 6: Lucy Chen, 5: Rebekah Meyer, 4: Mary Miller, 3: Christina McClintock, 2: Elizabeth Holly, 1: Shauna Stewart

Last Time Out
The Black and White heavyweight varsity eight placed third in the Class of 1975 Cup regatta against Cornell and No. 6 Princeton last weekend on the Cayuga Lake Inlet in Ithaca, N.Y. The Radcliffe second, third and fourth varsity eights all earned runner-up finishes.

O’Leary Cup History
A year ago in Syracuse, N.Y., the Radcliffe heavyweights won three races, including the first and second varsity eights, against the host Orange and Big Green. Syracuse won the varsity four and novice eight races. The Black and White varsity topped Dartmouth by 6.8 seconds and Syracuse by 20.9 to claim its seventh O’Leary Cup in the 10 years the trophy has been awarded.

Dartmouth has won the cup twice (most recently in 2007) and Syracuse once (in 2001). The trophy is named for Radcliffe head coach Liz O’Leary, who is in her 24th season leading the Black and White.

More History
Radcliffe raced Dartmouth in three grand finals and two heats at the 2009 EAWRC Sprints. The Black and White finished ahead of the Big Green in the first and second varsity eight and varsity four A grand finals and a varsity four B heat. In novice racing, Dartmouth crossed ahead of the Radcliffe eight that would go on to win the petite final. Radcliffe defeated Syracuse in second varsity eight and varsity four B heats and the varsity four B grand final.

Radcliffe holds a 21-13 all-time lead in the head-to-head series with Dartmouth, which dates back to 1977, and a 24-1 lead in the series against Syracuse. The Orange first raced the Black and White in 1973 and posted its first win against Radcliffe in 2001.