Radcliffe Heavyweights’ Coffey Named All-America; Soutter All-Region

Senior Olivia Coffey of the Radcliffe heavyweight crew has been named to the 2011 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Pocock All-America first team. She and junior Liz Soutter were previously selected to the All-New England teams by the CRCA.

Both athletes were members of the Radcliffe varsity eight this season, Coffey in the stroke seat and Soutter in the five seat. They helped the Black and White post an 11-4 dual record and reach the NCAA Championships, where the varsity eight placed 13th with a win in the third-level final.

Coffey was a first-team all-region selection, while Soutter was named to the second team. They helped Radcliffe climb as high as 12th in the national rankings. The Black and White captured the Beanpot as the fastest crew in Boston and defeated Yale to claim the Case Cup for the first time in eight years. Coffey and Soutter also led Radcliffe to a win against then-No. 10 Ohio State in the Charles River Challenge.

Coffey, a native of Watkins Glen, N.Y., was a four-year member of the Radcliffe varsity eight and made three NCAA appearances during her collegiate career. Soutter, a Toronto native, raced in the Black and White novice eight as a freshman and made her way up to the varsity eight by the end of her sophomore season before racing in the top boat full-time this year.

2011 CRCA Pocock All-America First Team
Tessie Allen, Brown
Ashton Brown, Princeton
Olivia Coffey, Radcliffe
Laura Cowel, Michigan State
Anna Dawson, Stanford
Emily Dreissigacker, Dartmouth
Ivana Filipovic, Southern California
Tessa Gobbo, Brown
Mary Jeghers, California
Casey Kelsey, Brown
Kara Kohler, California
Elle Logan, Stanford
Stephanie Madner, Yale
Felice Mueller, Michigan
Kristine O'Brien, Virginia
Emily Reynolds, Princeton
Erika Roddy, Stanford
Corinna Sharick, Washington State
Michaela Strand, Princeton
Maria Wilgotsson, Southern California
Lauren Wilkinson, Princeton
Lila Flavin, coxswain, Princeton

2011 CRCA Pocock All-America Second Team
Allison Courtin, Brown
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State
Rebecca Donald, Penn
Laura D'Urso, Clemson
Natalie Eisermann, Michigan
Elise Etem, California
Taylor Goetzinger, Cornell
Alex Japhet, Duke University
Vanessa Kleiss, Wisconsin
Kellie Lapointe, Michigan State
Kristina Lofman, California
Grace Luczak, Stanford
Maureen McAuilffe, George Mason
Caroline Nash, Yale
Christine Roper, Virginia
Claudia Schiwy, Ohio State
Veronica Townsend, Northeastern
Jennifer Vander Maarel, Texas
Lenka Vrecnikova, Southern California
Sarah Wolff, Washington State
Ellie Smith, coxswain, Brown

2011 CRCA All-New England First Team
Tessie Allen, Brown
Tessa Gobbo, Brown
Casey Kelsey, Brown
Emily Dreissigacker, Dartmouth
Hayley Daniell, Dartmouth
Stephanie Madner, Yale
Caroline Nash, Yale
Olivia Coffey, Radcliffe
Veronica Townsend, Northeastern
Megan O'Brien, Rhode Island
Ellie Smith, coxswain, Brown

2011 CRCA All-New England Second Team
Allison Courtin, Brown
Katherine Roddy, Dartmouth
Cathy McDermott, Yale
Liz Soutter, Radcliffe
Laura Carroll, Northeastern
Brittany Tovee, Boston University
Erin Roche, Boston College
Rachel Buff, coxswain, Northeastern