Radcliffe’s Liz Soutter, Courtney Diekema Named All-America

CRCA Release

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Senior Liz Soutter and junior Courtney Diekema of the Ivy League-champion Radcliffe heavyweight crew have been named to the Pocock All-America teams, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association has announced.

Soutter, a Toronto native, is a first-team All-America selection, while Diekema, from Holland, Mich., is a second-team pick. Both athletes rowed in the Radcliffe varsity eight that won the Ivy League Championship grand final and placed ninth at the NCAA Championships. Both were previously named to the All-Ivy League and CRCA New England All-Region first teams.

The duo helped Radcliffe win its first Ivy title since 2003 and record its highest NCAA finish since 2008.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's national finish, coaches’ recommendations and 2,000-meter ergometer score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

2012 CRCA Pocock All-America First Team
Keziah Beall, Virginia
Molly Bruggeman, Notre Dame
Allison Courtin, Brown
Sarah Cowburn, Virginia
Ulrike Denker, Ohio State
Emily Eifferet, Michigan
Elise Etem, California
Taylor Goetzinger, Cornell
Paparangi Hipango, California
Martie Kuzzy, Virginia
Kate Mansfield, Wisconsin
Daphne Marschenko, Stanford
Catherine McDermott, Yale
Felice Mueller, Michigan
Michelle Neuder, Michigan State
Kristine O'Brien, Virginia
Kelly Pierce, Princeton
Heidi Robbins, Princeton
Liz Soutter, Radcliffe
Britta Syverson, UCLA
Lenka Vrecnikova, Southern California
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford
Sidney Thorsten, Virginia, coxswain

2012 CRCA Pocock All-America Second Team
Anastasia Alexander, UCLA
Katherine Ashton, Navy
Erin Bennet, Louisville
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary's (Calif.)
Heather Cummings, Clemson
Hayley Daniell, Dartmouth
Courtney Diekema, Radcliffe
Tessa Gobbo, Brown
Greta Haselmann, Northeastern
Lindsey Healy, Michigan
Erika Lauderdale, Tennessee
Chelsey Lauzon, Central Florida
Cecilia Madsen, Cornell
Vineta Moca, Southern California
Stephanie Rogers, Tulsa
Lisa Roman, Washington State
Helen Tinkus, Southern California
Emily Walsh, Ohio State
Samantha Warren, Columbia
Asja Zero, Indiana
Colleen Macke, Michigan, coxswain