Radcliffe Crew Athletes Earn Academic Honors

CRCA 2011 Scholar Athletes

Eleven Radcliffe crew athletes have been named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association 2011 Scholar Athletes, the CRCA has announced.

Six members of the Black and White heavyweight crew were selected: junior classics concentrator Jill Carlson (Newton, Mass.), senior social studies concentrators Meg Johnson (Tarrytown, N.Y.) and Jessica Flakne (Londonderry, N.H.), sophomore government concentrator Scout Moran (San Rafael, Calif.), sophomore history concentrator Laura Savarese (New York, N.Y.) and junior engineering sciences concentrator Kirsten Van Fossen (Moorestown, N.J.). Carlson and Flakne are both repeat honorees.

Five athletes from the Radcliffe lightweight varsity eight were honored: senior Natalie Wong (Mill Valley, Calif.); junior Maryana Vrubel (Millbury, Mass.) and sophomores Lillian Alexander (Cabot, Vt.), Emma Lukasiewicz (Toronto, Ont.) and Julia Mason (Alamo, Calif.). Lukasiewicz studies psychology, while Wong and Vrubel are history concentrators. Alexander concentrates in environmental science and public policy, while Mason carries that concentration as well as one in organismic and evolutionary biology.

Both groups helped their teams to successful seasons on the water. The Radcliffe heavyweights posted an 11-4 dual record and reached the NCAA Championships, placing 14th nationally as a team. The lightweights went 6-2, earned a bronze medal at Eastern Sprints and placed fourth at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships

To be chosen as a Scholar Athlete, one must be a sophomore, junior or senior with a grade-point average of 3.50 or greater and have competed in an NCAA- or IRA-eligible boat for 75 percent of the season.