Thirteen Women’s Hockey Players Earn ECAC All-Academic Honors

Harvard boasts four, four-time ECAC All-Academic team selections (Gil Talbot).

ECAC Hockey Release

Thirteen members of the 2010-11 Harvard women’s hockey team have been named to the ECAC Hockey All-Academic team, the league announced Wednesday. The Crimson was tied with Cornell and Union with its 13 honorees, and Yale led the way with 19 selections.

Five members of the class of 2011 earned All-Academic honors. Kate Buesser, an organismic and evolutionary biology concentrator, Katharine Chute (organismic and evolutionary biology), Deborah Conway (government) and Leanna Coskren (sociology) all earned their fourth All-Academic nod, while Liza Ryabkina (government) secured her second career selection.

Alisa Baumgartner, the lone member of the junior class, earned her second selection and is concentrating in sociology.  

The sophomore class was well represented for Harvard , as seven members earned All-Academic distinction. Laura Bellamy (history and science), Margaret Chute (history and science), Jillian Dempsey (classics), Hilary Hayssen (history of art and architecture) and Kelsey Romatoski (neurobiology) all earned their second All-Academic nod, while Whitney Kennedey (history and science) and Kaitlin Spurling (government) earned their first.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade-point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.