@HarvardCrimson Harvard Edu

ECAC All-Academic Honors for Nine Women’s Hockey Players

Harvard earned its 10th 20-win season in team history in 2011-12 (Gil Talbot).

Nine members of the 2011-12 Harvard women’s hockey team have been named to the ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team, the organization announced Tuesday.

Senior captain Alisa Baumgartner, a sociology concentrator, earned her third All-Academic honor. Six members of the class of 2013 earned a spot on the team, including five players who received the third honor of their career: Margaret Chute (history and science), Jillian Dempsey (classics), Kelsey Romatoski (neurobiology), Laura Bellamy (history and science) and Hilary Hayssen (history of art and architecture). Junior Kaitlin Spurling (government) captured her second all-academic nod. Rookies Samantha Reber and Hillary Crowe rounded out the Harvard honorees.

Players are eligible for the All-Academic team if they earn a cumulative grade-point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

For the full ECAC Hockey All-Academic release, click here.