Women's Swimming and Diving Announces Award Winners at Annual Banquet

Cambridge, Mass. – The Harvard women's swimming and diving team announced its award winners during its end-of-the-season banquet at the Harvard Club of Boston April 6. Danielle Lee and Elina Leiviska headlined the list of winners by taking home the Sharon Beckman Award, presented to the Crimson's most outstanding swimmer, and the John Walker Award, for the best Harvard diver, respectively.

The Crimson celebrated yet another remarkable season in Cambridge, rolling through the Ivy League dual season with a 6-1 record, and continued its success, capturing the program's 11th Ivy League championship at season's end. Additionally, the Crimson saw four program records broken while sophomore Danielle Lee qualified for the 2014 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships.

Award Winners
Alice McCabe Award - Honoring the most improved team member whose performances in all areas reminds us of the ideals set forth by Coach Alice McCabe: Sarah Sumner and Schuyler Moore

Spirit Award - Honoring the team member whose contributions to the program in spirit, energy and enthusiasm most emulate that of Coach Maura Costin Scalise '80: Kelsey Hojan-Clark

Nancy Sato Award - Honoring the senior whose action and attitudes over the years reflect a strong commitment to the improvement of Harvard Swimming as demonstrated by Nancy Sato '75: Deirdre Clute and Danielle Schulkin 

Dr. Mary Ellen Mangano Award - "Unsung Heroine" -- Awarded to the person whose dedication, hard work and overall pursuit of excellence emulates those of the late Dr. Mangano '80: Sherry Liu

Coach's Award - Honoring the member of the team whose all-around attitude and contributions stand out to the coaching staff: Kyle Krueger

Outstanding Freshman Award - Honoring the freshman whose outstanding talent and contribution to the team throughout the season perseveres, so that she may reach her goals and has helped the team surpass theirs: Victoria Chan

John Walker Award - Honoring the outstanding diver whose contributions to the Harvard program in attitude, dedication and performance are modeled after those of Coach John Walker: Elina Leiviska

Sharon Beckman Award - Honoring the swimmer whose outstanding performance, dedication, qualities of leadership and promotion of Harvard Swimming emulates co-captain Sharon Beckman '80: Danielle Lee