Harvard to Host 2013 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship at Blodgett Pool

Story courtesy of

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — The NCAA National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Committee has selected Cambridge, Mass., as the site for the 2013 championship. Hosted by Harvard, the championship will take place at Blodgett Pool on May 10-12, 2013.

"Playing at Harvard will offer a tremendous experience for our student-athletes," said Matthew Anderson, chair of the NCAA Women's Water Polo Committee and head coach at Michigan. "It will be great to give the northeast part of the country an opportunity to see the best women's water polo has to offer when the 2013 championship takes place at Harvard."

The 2013 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship will mark the first time in the 13-year history of the event that it will be hosted in the northeast region of the United States. Blodgett Pool has hosted several regional water polo championships, including the Collegiate Water Polo Association Men's Northern Championships in 2002 and the Women's Eastern Championships in 2009.

Harvard will now have hosted six NCAA championship events over the last eight years, including women's basketball (2006), men's lacrosse (2008, 2009, 2012), fencing (2010) and women's water polo (2013).

The NCAA National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship is made up of eight teams which all compete at the finals site.