Robinson, McColl Receive All-NEIBA Accolades

Robinson, McColl Receive All-NEIBA Accolades

BABSON PARK, Mass. - The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) released its Division I All-New England teams on Friday afternoon. Sophomores Patrick Robinson and Patrick McColl of the Harvard baseball team were granted first-team honors.

Robinson was named to the first team as a utility player after seeing considerable time at both right field and designated hitter. The Melbourne, Florida native enjoyed a breakout sophomore campaign, hitting .373, which was second-best in the league, while ranking fifth nationally with a .738 slugging percentage. Robinson led the Crimson with nine home runs, which is the seventh-most for Harvard in a single season, and ranked second with 34 RBI. 25 of his 47 hits went for extra bases. A member of the All-Ivy first team, Robinson was also a CoSIDA Academic All-District selection.
McColl was named to the All-NEIBA first team after leading the Crimson with 36 RBI, which ended up fourth in the Ancient Eight. The Los Altos, California native hit .355, ranking fifth in the league, while slotting third in the league in on-base (.459) and slugging percentages (.621). McColl finished the campaign with six home runs, and 19 extra-base hits. A strong defensive presence at first base, McColl's diving catch gave Harvard its first Ivy win of the year vs. Cornell.
Harvard baseball tallied its winningest season since 2006, led by an offensive outburst that produced 32 home runs.
2017 NEIBA Division I All-New England Teams
Player of the Year: Chris Hess, Rhode Island
Pitcher of the Year: Gavin Wallace, Fairfield
Rookie of the Year: Mason Feole, Connecticut
Coach of the Year: John Stuper, Yale

First Team
C Mickey Gasper, Bryant
1B Patrick McColl, Harvard
2B Chris Hess, Rhode Island
3B Matt O'Neill, Rhode Island
SS Ben Bengston, Hartford
OF Ashton Bardzell, Hartford
OF Mike Corin, Rhode Island
OF Jordan Powell, Rhode Island
DH Benny Wanger, Yale
UT Patrick Robinson, Harvard
SP Scott Politz, Yale
SP Gavin Wallace, Fairfield
SP Beau Sulser, Dartmouth
RP John Russell, Connecticut

Second Team
C Chris Bec, Maine
1B Cam Hanley, Northeastern
2B  Dean Lockery, Central Connecticut
3B Ryan Costello, Central Connecticut
SS Max Burt, Northeastern
OF Chris Sharpe, UMass Lowell
OF Nick Angelini, Bryant
OF Tim DeGraw, Yale
DH Troy Scocca, Fairfield
UT Donovan Casey, Boston College
SP Mason Feole, Connecticut
SP Vitaly Jangols, Rhode Island
SP Brian Christian, Northeastern
RP Tyler Barss, Rhode Island
Third Team
C Erik Ostberg, Hartford
1B David MacKinnon, Hartford
2B Simon Whiteman, Yale
3B Richard Slenker, Yale
SS Jimmy Titus, Bryant
OF Colby Maiola, UMass Lowell
OF Kyle Holbrook, Dartmouth
OF Jake Alu, Boston College
DH Liam Scafariello, Quinnipiac
UT Charlie McConnell, Northeastern
SP Willis Montgomerie, Connecticut
SP Tim Cate, Connecticut
SP Mike Danielak, Dartmouth
RP Mike Davis, Quinnipiac