Jake Suddleson Named Baseball’s Ivy League Player of the Year, Decker Named Ivy Coach of the Year

Jake Suddleson Named Baseball’s Ivy League Player of the Year, Decker Named Ivy Coach of the Year

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard baseball team captured Ivy League Player-of-the-Year and Coach-of-the-Year honors, while also adding three first-team All-Ivy selections the league announced today. The team also picked up two second-team All-Ivy members.

Junior Jake Suddleson marks the fifth player in program history to win the award and the first to do so since Andrew Huling in 1999. Suddleson earns the award after dominating Ivy League pitchers. Against conference opponents, the junior leads the way with 37 hits, eight home runs, 36 RBIs and a .758 on base percentage. The clean-up hitter finished the regular season with 53 RBIs, breaking a program record for single-season RBIs set by Andrew Huling, which he established during his player-of-the-year campaign in 1999. Currently, Suddleson sits eighth in the country with 1.33 runs batted in per game. 

For The Joseph O'Donnell '67 Head Coach for Harvard Baseball, Bill Decker, he earns his first Ivy League Coach-of-the-Year award. After earning his 100th win with the program early in the season, Decker propelled his team to a 27-13 record, the highest win total since taking over the program. The team finished with a 14-7 Ivy League record, capturing every Ivy League series it played in and winning the Ivy League title to end the regular season. Then, the team swept Columbia in the Ivy League Playoff Series to earn a berth into the NCAA Tournament. 

Joining Suddleson on the first team, senior first baseman Patrick McColl and junior designated hitter Hunter Bigge also earned First Team All-Ivy honors. Bigge also earned second team All-Ivy recognition for his work on the mound. He is joined on the second team by senior center fielder Ben Skinner. Junior shortstop Chad Minato also earned Honorable Mention All-Ivy.

The Crimson will await its destination from the NCAA Selection Committee, with the selection show airing on Monday May 27, at noon on ESPNU. The team will then play the following weekend.



Jake Suddleson, Harvard (Jr., OF – Pacific Palisades, Calif.) 



Christian Scafidi, Penn (Jr., SP – Blackwood, N.J.) 



* Josh Hood, Penn (Fr., SS – Richland, N.J.) 



Bill Decker, Harvard



* Christian Scafidi, Penn (Jr., SP – Blackwood, N.J.) 

Kumar Nambiar, Yale (Sr., SP – Larchmont, N.Y.) 

Alex Stiegler, Yale (Jr., SP – Dallas, Texas) 

* John Natoli, Cornell (Jr., RP – Fairfield, Conn.) 

* Matt O'Neill, Penn (Sr., C – Morristown, N.J.) 

Patrick McColl, Harvard (Sr., 1B – Los Altos, Calif.) 

Sean Sullivan, Dartmouth (Sr., 2B – Hopedale, Mass.)

Joe Engel, Columbia (Sr., SS – Downers Grove, Ill.) 

Josh Hood, Penn (Fr., SS – Richland, N.J.) 

* Steffen Torgersen, Dartmouth (Sr., 3B – Shoreline, Wash.) 

* Joe Lomuscio, Brown (So., OF – West Roxbury, Mass.)

* Jake Suddleson, Harvard (Jr., OF – Pacific Palisades, Calif.) 

Peter Matt, Penn (Jr., OF – Larchmont, N.Y.) 

Mark Sluys, Brown (Sr., UT – Gig Harbor, Wash.)

* Hunter Bigge, Harvard (Jr., DH – Los Gatos, Calif.) 



Josh Simpson, Columbia (Sr., SP – Stafford, Conn.)

Hunter Bigge, Harvard (Jr., SP – Los Gatos, Calif.) 

Andrew Gnazzo, Princeton (Jr., SP – Farmington, Conn.) 

Dustin Baird, Brown (Jr., RP – Indianapolis, Ind.) 

Liam McGill, Columbia (Jr., C – Wakefield, R.I.)

Chandler Bengtson, Columbia (Sr., 1B – Fresno, Calif.) 

Chris Adams, Penn (Jr., 2B – Boalsburg, Pa.) 

Simon Whiteman, Yale (Sr., SS – Trumbull, Conn.) 

Mason LaPlante, Yale (Fr., 3B – Allen, Texas) 

Julian Bury, Columbia (So., OF – Mechanicsburg, Pa.) 

Matt Feinstein, Dartmouth (Sr., OF – Old Brookville, N.Y.) 

Ben Skinner, Harvard (Sr., OF – Moraga, Calif.) 

Craig Larsen, Penn (Fr., UT – Toms River, N.J.) 

Sean Phelan, Penn (Sr., DH – Devon, Pa.) 



Ben Wereski, Columbia (Jr., SP – Orchard Park, N.Y.) 

Max Hunter, Dartmouth (So., RP – St. Louis, Mo.) 

Will Simoneit, Cornell (Sr., C – Glen Ellyn, Ill.) 

Griffin Dey, Yale (Sr., 1B – Pound Ridge, N.Y.) 

Jack Chernow, Columbia (So., 2B – Chester, N.J.) 

Chad Minato, Harvard (Jr., SS – Huntington Beach, Calif.) 

Josh Nicoloff, Columbia (So., 3B – Ladera Ranch, Calif.) 

Ben Porter, Columbia (Sr., OF – Newton, Mass.) 

Eduardo Malinowski, Penn (So., OF – Spring, Texas)

David Harding, Princeton (Jr., UT – Severna Park, Md.) 

Jake Gehri, Yale (Fr., DH – Buckley, Wash.) 


* Unanimous Selection

^ First Team Expanded Due To Tie In Voting