Three Football Rookies Named Finalists for NFF HS Scholar-Athlete Award

Photo courtesy of OAC
Photo courtesy of OAC

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Three Harvard football freshmen – Anthony Camargo, Ben Shoults and Ryan Sunda – have been named finalists for the 2015 NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete Awards, which will honor one young man from each of the country's five regions as the best and the brightest for their accomplishments as athletes, scholars and citizens at the high school level. The Crimson student-athletes are three of 40 finalists.

Camargo graduated from Bishop Amat High School in California, where he was a two-time captain at linebacker and running back. A linebacker with the Crimson, Camargo was selected to first team all-area and first team All-Mission League as a senior.

Shoults was a three-year letterwinner and senior captain as an offensive lineman, tight end, and fullback at Maple Grove Senior High School in Minnesota. Named to the Minnesota Coaches Association All-State Team, Shoults led his team to back-to-back state tournaments.  

Sunda, of High Point Regional High School in Sussex, New Jersey, was a two-time captain on the offensive and defensive lines. A two-time All-NJAC first team and All-Academic selection, Sunda was also selected to the All-NJ Herald first team in 2014.

The five honorees will travel to New York City to be honored during the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Under Armour, on Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2015, at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel. First bestowed in 1991, the NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete Awards have become one of the most prestigious high school honors in the country. Criteria for the award include but are not limited to academic achievement, athletic accolades and community involvement.