Lee Named MVP; Miller Elected 145th Harvard Football Captain

Lee Named MVP; Miller Elected 145th Harvard Football Captain

Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach for Harvard Football, announces Zach Miller as the 145th Crimson football captain (David Silverman).

BOSTON -- At the annual football awards banquet hosted by the Harvard Club of Boston, Tanner Lee was chosen as the winner of the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2017 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates.

Rising senior defensive back Zach Miller was elected as the 145th captain of Harvard football for the 2018 season, as announced by Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach of Harvard Football. Also at the banquet, the other recipients of the 2017 team awards were announced.

Outgoing senior tight end Jake Barann was presented with the sixth annual Joe Restic Award for leadership, scholarship, and integrity.

Lee was also presented with the Lamar Award for dedication, becoming the first player to win both the Lamar and Crocker Award. Senior captain Luke Hutton received the Kennedy Award for desire and determination; senior defensive lineman Tristan Tahmaseb took home the Wolf Award as the team's outstanding interior linemen; and senior defensive back Raishan McGhee gained the LaCroix Trophy for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and loyalty.

Harvard posted a 5-5 overall record and was 3-4 in the Ancient Eight in 2017. Tim Murphy collected his 200th career victory with the Crimson's 21-14 win at Columbia Nov. 4. 

2017 Harvard Football Award Winners

Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP) Tanner Lee

Henry H. Lamar Award (dedication to program) Tanner Lee

Joseph E. Wolf Award (top interior lineman)
 Tristan Tahmaseb

William Paine LaCroix Trophy (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty)
 Raishaun McGhee

Robert F. Kennedy Award (desire and determination)
 Luke Hutton

Joseph Restic Award
 Jake Barann

The 145th Harvard Football Captain
 Zach Miller