Dickson, Warren Named 2010 Captains at Field Hockey Banquet

Dickson, Warren Named 2010 Captains at Field Hockey Banquet

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. —Carly Dickson and KJ Warren were named the Harvard field hockey team’s 2010 captains at the Crimson’s annual team banquet Monday night at the Murr Center. Both elected captains were also honored with individual awards, as was sophomore back Pilar Mayora.

Dickson received the team’s Most Valuable Player award. The sophomore midfielder was a second-team All-Northeast Region and All-Ivy League selection, earning regional and league honors for the second straight season. The Victoria, B.C., native ranked second on the team in points with 17 on five goals and seven assists and was the Crimson’s top scorer in Ivy games with three goals and three assists for nine points.

Warren was presented with the Crimson Award, an honor bestowed by head coach Sue Caples and her staff only occasionally, when a player makes special contributions to the team during a given season. The junior was honored despite not playing a minute during the 2009 season, sitting out due to injury. Caples lauded Warren for her support to the team from the bench in practices and in games and said having the Larchmont, N.Y., native on the sideline was like having an extra coach.

Mayora was the recipient of the Most Improved Player award. After appearing in just seven games as a rookie, she stepped up her play in 2009, appearing in 13 contests and starting nine. The Buenos Aires native started five of the Crimson’s seven Ivy League games. She came through with a number of big defensive plays as the season progressed and led the team with four defensive saves.

Caples began the banquet by acknowledging the contributions and leadership of senior captains Kristin Bannon and Elizabeth Goodman-Bacon. Both players were honored with thanks and gifts from the coaches and their teammates. The coaching staff also presented members of the team with letterwinner awards and looked back on the year with a team highlight video.

The evening concluded with Bannon and Goodman-Bacon presenting Dickson and Warren as next season’s captains.