Mayer, Sheldon Named Captains at Golf Banquet

Mayer, Sheldon Named Captains at Golf Banquet

BOSTON, Mass. - On May 4th, the Harvard Golf Program celebrated the 2008-2009 season at the Harvard Faculty Club.   Thank you to the Friends of Harvard Golf who make this annual banquet possible and to our Friends and parents who were in attendance.

The evening served as an opportunity to recognize the achievements of our team members; especially our seniors who have each made an indelible and positive mark on our program. Graduating seniors include:  Mike Shore, John Christensen, Ali Bode, Emily Balmert and Jenny Brine.  We will miss each of our seniors and are grateful for all that they did for Harvard Golf.  We wish each of the seniors great success and hope that they will stay close to the program. 

At the banquet we present two awards to each team and announce the results of the captain election for each team.  Following are the results:

Men’s Team Awards:

Rob Erickson ’01 Team Player Award: “Rob Erickson was a three year golf letterman and member of the class of '01 who passed away on January 20, 2005. His friends and teammates knew Rob as a strong advocate for his school, his friends, and the values he shared with his parents. While every Harvard student remembers how it felt to open their acceptance letter, Rob seemed to carry that feeling with him every day throughout college. As a Harvard student-athlete, Rob saw it as his responsibility to help younger players feel welcome at Harvard. When recruits visited campus, Rob was the first to meet them and always offered to house them during their stay. Those who eventually came to Harvard knew they already had one good friend on the team. 

In recognition of Rob’s contributions to Harvard and the golf program, the golf team has created a Team Player award to be given to the golfer who best follows Rob’s example in his commitment to team and community – the Rob Erickson ’01 Team Player Award.”

Past Winners:

’05 – Tom Hegge ‘07

’06 – James Cleary ‘06

’07 – Tom Hegge ‘07

’08 – Mike Shore ‘09


The 2009 winner of the Rob Erickson ’01 Team Player Award is John Christensen ’09.

Alex Vik ’78 MVP:   As a freshman in 1975, Alex won the inaugural Ivy League Championship individually and led the team to their only team Ivy League Championship the same year. The following year he won the individual trophy again and followed up with two more All Ivy performances. Alex has continued to be a valuable member of the Harvard Golf program as a Co-Chair of the Friends of Harvard Board and the father of women’s team member Caroline Vik. This award is given annually to the team member who is most responsible for moving the program toward its vision of becoming the best program in the Northeast”. 

Past Winners:

’05 – Chris Wu ‘05

’06 – David (DJ) Hynes ‘06

’07 – Greg Shuman ‘10

’08 – Not awarded.


The 2009 winner of the Alex Vik ’78 MVP Award is Greg Shuman ’10.

Captain:   Prior to the banquet, the team voted for their new captain. Succeeding outgoing senior Mike Shore ’09 as captain for the 2009-2010 season is Danny Mayer ’10

Women’s Team Awards

The Short Game Award: Most of our competition is competent from tee to green. Since over 50% of strokes take place within 50 yards of the hole, scoring at all levels comes from the short game – getting the ball in the hole from around the green. This requires practice, strategy, imagination, touch . . . and more practice. As a first step towards improvement, we measure our results. The Short Game Award goes to the player with the most effective short game as measured by our statistical program. 

Past winners:

’02 – Merry Chiampa ‘04

’03 – Kathryn Kuchefski

’04 – Merry Chiampa ‘04

’05 – Jeen-Joo Kang ‘05

’06 – Jessica Hazlett, ‘08

’07 – Emily Balmert ‘09

’08 – Emily Balmert ‘09

The 2009 winner of The Short Game Award is Christine Cho ’12. Christine was also awarded the inaugural Ivy League Rookie of the Year award.

The Warren Smith Sportsmanship Award: “Warren Smith started the Harvard Women’s Golf program in 1993. For most people who knew Warren, he was the nicest man they knew. A true gentleman. A good man who always had a kind and helpful thing to say. He was a father and a grandfather away from home for many Harvard students and a role model for all. In difficult times and good times; through personal adversity Warren always exhibited Sportsmanship, Dedication, Etiquette, and Kindness. Harvard Women’s Golf awards the Warren Smith Sportsmanship Award each year to the team member who best exemplifies the ideals established by Coach Smith.”

Past Winners:

’02 – Elisa Schaar ‘04

’03 – Jennifer Cronan ‘06

’04 – Jacquie Rooney ‘07

’05 – Carrie Baizer ‘05

’06 –  Caitlin Hicks ‘06

’07 – Jacquie Rooney ‘07

’08 – Debbi Amanti ‘08

The 2009 winner of the Warren Smith Sportsmanship Award is Claire Sheldon ’10. Claire also earned All Ivy for the second straight year. 

Captain:   Prior to the banquet, the team elected Claire Sheldon ’10 as their new captain succeeding outgoing senior Ali Bode ’09. 

Emily Balmert ’09 was recognized for her outstanding accomplishment of earning All Ivy all four years. Emily, Harvard’s first individual Ivy League Champion, was the first Harvard Women’ golfer and only the second Harvard golfer to earn All Ivy four times.