Six From Harvard Men’s Ice Hockey on 2019-20 NHL Opening Night Rosters

Harvard in the NHL graphic

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Leading all ECAC Hockey and Ivy League programs, Harvard men's ice hockey will have six alumni on opening night rosters to start the 2019-20 NHL season. The six players at the NHL level are among the 20 Harvard men's ice hockey alumni playing professional hockey this season.

Ryan Donato '19 (Minnesota), Adam Fox (New York Rangers), Alexander Kerfoot '17 (Toronto), Alex Killorn '12 (Tampa Bay), John Marino (Pittsburgh), and Jimmy Vesey '16 (Buffalo) will represent Harvard at the NHL level.

Donato begins his second year at the NHL level after signing a two-year deal with the Minnesota Wild this past offseason. In 68 NHL games, he has recorded 15 goals and 19 assists.

Fox will make his NHL debut with the New York Rangers after forgoing his senior season with Harvard and signing an entry-level contract with the team this past May. The Hobey Hat Trick finalist and Academic All-Ivy selection was also three-time AHCA All-American with the Crimson.

Kerfoot will make his debut with the Toronto Maple Leafs after an offseason trade from Colorado, where he recorded 85 points (34 goals, 51 assists) in 157 NHL contests.

Killorn begins his eighth season with the Tampa Bay Lightning, with a chance to move closer to the title of Harvard's all-time leading scorer in the NHL. Killorn has 261 points (105 goals, 156 assists) in 517 games, trailing only Don Sweeney (273), Dominic Moore (282) and Ted Donato (347). 

Marino will make his NHL debut with the Pittsburgh Penguins after signing with the team in August, also forgoing his senior year at Harvard. He finished his collegiate career with 42 points (seven goals, 35 points) and a plus-38 rating.

After an offseason trade from the Rangers, Vesey will make his debut with the Buffalo Sabres as he enters his fourth full season at the NHL level. Vesey has recorded 90 points (50 goals, 40 assists) in 240 contests.

Harvard Hockey in the Pros
Desmond Bergin '16 l Adirondack Thunder (ECHL)
Alex Biega '10 l Utica Comets (AHL)
Colin Blackwell '16 l Milwaukee Admirals (AHL)
Kyle Criscuolo '16 l Lehigh Valley Phantoms (AHL)
Ryan Donato '19 l Minnesota Wild (NHL)
Luke Esposito '17 l Bakersfield Condors (AHL)
Danny Fick '14 l Nottingham Panthers (England)
Michael Floodstrand '19 l Marseille (France)
Adam Fox l New York Rangers (NHL)
Jake Horton '18 l Springfield Thunderbirds (AHL)
Alexander Kerfoot '17 l Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Alex Killorn '12 l Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)
Merrick Madsen '18 l Tuscon Roadrunners (AHL)
Sean Malone '17 l Rochester Americans (AHL)
John Marino l Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Patrick McNally '15 l MAC Ujbuda (Slovakia)
Tyler Moy '17 l Lausanne HC (Switzerland)
Wiley Sherman '18 l Providence Bruins (AHL)
Jimmy Vesey '16 l Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Lewis Zerter-Gossage '19 l Hartford Wolf Pack (AHL)