Dwyer Announced as Tewaaraton Award Nominee

Dwyer Announced as Tewaaraton Award Nominee

Dwyer is the first Crimson student-athlete to be named a Tewaaraton Award Nominee (Paul Rutherford).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Devin Dwyer has been named one of 25 nominees for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, Tewaaraton Foundation officials announced Friday evening. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

Dwyer is putting together one of the finest seasons in Harvard men's lacrosse history, ranking fifth in the NCAA in points per game (4.77), 14th in goals per game (2.69), and 15th in assists per game (2.08). His 62 points are a career-high and rank seventh in program history, while his 35 goals, also a career-best, are 12th in program history. His 27 assists, meanwhile, are two shy of 10th place in school history.

Should he reach 30 assists, he would become the first student-athlete in program history with 30-plus goals and 30-plus assists in a season.

Dwyer's name litters Harvard's record book as a three-time Tewaaraton Award Watch List honoree, three-time Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-American, three-time All-Ivy League selection and a 2014 USILA All-America honorable mention. He ranks fourth in program history in career points (201) and is third in Harvard history, 10th in Ivy League annals, in career assists (118). He currently boasts a 46-game point-scoring streak which dates back to his freshman year, the fourth-longest active streak in the NCAA.

A native of Garden City, N.Y., Dwyer was drafted by the Florida Launch in the sixth round, 46th overall, of the 2016 MLL Draft.

Dwyer is the first Harvard student-athlete to be named a Tewaaraton Award Nominee. Five men's and five women's finalists will be selected from the respective groups of 25, announced on Thursday, May 12, and invited to the ceremony. The 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held Thursday, June 2 in Washington, D.C., at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.