Men’s and Women’s Squash Gives Out Year-End Awards

Men’s and Women’s Squash Gives Out Year-End Awards

J. Reed Endresen was honored with the Coaches' Award Saturday night (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard men’s and women’s squash teams held their year-end banquet Saturday evening, recognizing six student-athletes.

In the men’s awards, freshman Gary Power took home MVP honors. Power went 13-6 on the season, including a 10-5 record from the No. 1 spot for the Crimson. He advanced to the round of 16 at the CSA Individual National Championship before falling. Power was recognized last week as a member of the All-Ivy League team.

Fellow freshman, Thomas Mullaney, was highlighted as the Most Improved Player for the men’s squad. Mullaney finished the season with a team-best .706 winning percentage after a 12-5 season. He collected an 8-1 mark in matches from the No. 7 spot.

Senior captain Reed Endresen was recognized as a recipient of the Coaches’ Award given out by head coach Mike Way. Reed served as the emotional leader for the Crimson, while also playing to a 9-8 overall record, including a 5-4 record in the No. 2 slot.

Laura Gemmell, a sophomore from Toronto, Ont., was selected as the MVP of the women’s squad. Gemmell finished the 2010-11 season with a 16-1 record, losing only in the CSA Individual National Championship. She served as the Crimson’s No.1 player, leading them to a runner-up finish at the CSA National Team Championship. She also earned CSA first-team All-America honors, was selected as the Ivy League Player of the Year and was selected to the All-Ivy League first team.

Cece Cortes, a junior from Cambridge, was honored as the women’s Most Improved Player. Cortes recorded a team-best 17-1 record this season. After completing the regular season and CSA National Team Championship with an undefeated 13-0 record, Cortes went 4-1 at the CSA Individual National Championship, winning the first-round consolation bracket in the Ramsay Cup draw. She has also garnered CSA second-team All-America honors.

Senior Bethan Williams was awarded the Coaches’ Award on women’s side. Williams was 9-1 in her final year with the Crimson, with undefeated records when playing as the No. 7 or 9.

The team's also announced the 2011-12 captains at the banquet. For the men, Will Ahmed and Jason Michas will serve as co-captains of the Crimson. On the women's squad, Nirasha Guruge and Cece Cortes will serve as the co-captains next season.