Final Flight Sweep Sends Men's Squash Past Rochester, 6-3, to the Potter Cup Semifinals

Final Flight Sweep Sends Men's Squash Past Rochester, 6-3, to the Potter Cup Semifinals

Tyler Olson picked up a win at No. 5 for the Crimson (Gil Talbot).

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – After the first flight of matches, the No. 3 Harvard men's squash team found itself trailing Rochester; however, the Crimson won five of the final six matches to close out the Yellow Jackets, 6-3, and advance to the Potter Cup semifinals.

Harvard found itself down 2-1 after the first flight and tied 3-3 following the second before erasing all doubt by sweeping the final flight of matches to advance to the round of four for the second consecutive year. The Crimson will take on Princeton, who edged Harvard, 5-4, earlier this season, in the semifinals at noon Saturday.

In the opening flight at the Brady Squash Courts, the Crimson's lone win came at No. 9 from Alexander Ma, who dispatched Juan Herrera, 11-2, 11-5, 11-6, while the Yellow Jackets earned a four-game triumph at No. 6 and a sweep at No. 3.

However, in the second set of matches, the Crimson began its comeback with triumphs at No. 5 and No. 8. Tyler Olson edged Oscar Lopez, 11-9, 9-11, 11-4, 11-4, in the middle of the ladder, while freshman Matt Roberts, who was playing up a position up from his usual No. 9, swept William Mohr, 11-9, 11-8, 11-5, to draw even.

Harvard then erased all doubt and pulled away, taking the final three matches. Ali Farag put Harvard on the verge of clinching with his 11-5, 11-9, 11-9 win over Andres Duany to set the stage for Gary Power, who handled Adam Perkiomaki, 11-7, 14-12, 11-5, at No. 4 to lock up the win. No. 7 Zeke Scherl wrapped up the day on a high note with an 11-5, 11-7, 7-11, 11-3 victory against Xiaomin Meng.

No. 1 Ali Farag (H) def. Andres Duany (R) 3-0: 11-5, 11-9, 11-9
No. 2 Neil Cordell (R) def. Brandon McLaughin (H) 3-1: 11-6, 11-13, 13-11, 11-3
No. 3 Faraz Khan (R) def. Nigel Koh (H) 3-0: 11-7, 11-8, 11-9
No. 4 Gary Power (H) def. Adam Perkiomaki (R) 3-0: 11-7, 14-12, 11-5
No. 5 Tyler Olson (H) def. Oscar Lopez (R) 3-1: 11-9, 9-11, 11-4, 11-4
No. 6 Karm Kumar (R) def. Tom Mullaney (H) 3-1: 12-10, 7-11, 11-6, 11-6
No. 7 Zeke Scherl (H) def. Xiaomin Meng (R) 3-1: 11-5, 11-7, 7-11, 11-3
No. 8 Matt Roberts (H) def. William Mohr (R) 3-0: 11-9, 11-8, 11-5
No. 9 Alexander Ma (H) def. Juan Herrera (R) 3-0: 11-2, 11-5, 11-6
No. 10 Samuel Goldberg (H) by default