Men's Squash Falls Just Shy of Potter Cup in 6-3 Loss to Trinity

Men's Squash Falls Just Shy of Potter Cup in 6-3 Loss to Trinity

Harvard poses with the runner-up trophy following the match against Trinity (Harvard Athletics). 

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – One day after pulling off a dramatic, come-from-behind win over Princeton in the Potter Cup semifinals, the No. 3 Harvard men's fell just short of the ultimate goal, dropping a 6-3 decision to Trinity, Sunday afternoon in the championship match at the Brady Squash Courts.

Harvard opened up a 2-1 lead after the first flight, but the Bantams won four of the next five matches to secure the win and deny the Crimson its 31st national championship.

Alexander Ma opened things up early for the Crimson, taking his match at No. 9, 6-11, 11-4, 11-7, 11-7, to give Harvard a 1-0 lead. Trinity battled back to tie it with a win at No. 6; however, it appeared as though Harvard had seized the momentum following Nigel Koh's performance at No. 3. The junior dropped the first two games, 11-8 and 11-7, to Miled Zarazua. He jumped out to an early lead in the third game and held on to win, 11-5; however, he had to fend off a match ball in the fourth before rallying to win, 12-10, and send it to a deciding fifth game. Koh was on the ropes trailing 10-8 in the fifth, but he won four consecutive points to lock up the win for Harvard.

In the second flight, Trinity swept matches at No. 8 and No. 5 to take the lead for the first time on the afternoon. The Bantams followed suit by winning at position two to go on the verge of clinching the national title.

With No. 7 and No. 4 already on the courts, No. 1 Ali Farag stepped on the court for Harvard and made quick work of Reinhold Hergeth, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5, to cut the deficit to 4-3. Trinity closed out the match at seven in four to earn its fifth and clinching point before making the final margin three with a five-game victory at No. 4.

The Crimson finishes the season 17-3 and with its highest final ranking since placing second in 2004-05.

No. 1 Ali Farag (H) def. Reinhold Hergeth (T) 3-0: 11-4, 11-5, 11-5
No. 2 Juan Vargas (T) def. Brandon McLaughlin (H) 3-1: 6-11, 12-10, 11-5, 11-6
No. 3 Nigel Koh (H) def. Miled Zarazua (T) 3-2: 8-11, 7-11, 11-5, 12-10, 12-10
No. 4 Karan Malik (T) def. Gary Power (H) 3-2: 11-6, 4-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-8
No. 5 Vrishab Kotian (T) def. Tyler Olson (H) 3-0: 11-8, 11-7, 11-6
No. 6 Johan Detter (T) def. Tom Mullaney (H) 3-1: 9-11, 11-5, 11-6, 11-6
No. 7 Zeyad Elshorfy (T) def. Zeke Scherl (H) 3-1: 11-8, 11-5, 8-11, 11-6
No. 8 Moustafa Hamada (T) def. Matt Roberts (H) 3-0: 11-3, 11-2, 11-4
No. 9 Alexander Ma (H) def. Matthew Mackin (T) 3-1: 6-11, 11-4, 11-7, 11-7