No. 1 Men’s Squash Crowned Ivy Champs, Edges No. 8 Yale, 5-4

Harvard won the Ivy League Championship outright with a 5-4 win over Yale Sunday (Photo courtesy of Dean Bauer).

. – The No. 1 Harvard men's squash team edged No. 8 Yale, 5-4, clinching the Ivy League title outright at the Murr Center Squash Courts on Sunday afternoon. The Crimson earned its first championship since the 2014-15 season after posting a 7-0 mark in conference action.

Harvard (11-1, 7-0 Ivy) concluded its regular season with back-to-back Ivy wins to win its 41st Ivy Championship in program history, after suffering its only loss of the season in a 5-4 contest against No. 2 Trinity. The Crimson earned its fourth Ivy title in the last five years, winning the league outright in 2013-14 and 2014-15 and splitting with Princeton in 2012-13. 

Senior Devin McLaughlin and freshman Sean Hughes picked up wins in their respective matches to remain unbeaten on the year. McLaughlin moved to 10-0, while Hughes advanced to 11-0 in his rookie campaign.

Junior Madhav Dhingra picked up a 3-1 win at No. 3 for his seventh win of the season and freshman Timothy Brownell dominated his match at No. 4 to record his 10th victory. Sophomore Alexi Gosset earned the fifth win for the Crimson, taking home a 3-0 decision at No. 9 to secure the Ivy League title for Harvard.

Harvard returns to action next weekend, Feb. 17-19, when it hosts the CSA Team Championships at the Murr Center Squash Courts. The Crimson is looking for its first national title since the 2013-14 season. 


No. 1   Thomas Dembinksi def. Saadeldin Abouaish (H) – (3-0)

No. 2   Spencer Lovejoy def. Bradley Smith (H) – (3-1)        

No. 3   Madhav Dhingra (H) def. Kah Wah Cheong – (3-1)

No. 4   Timothy Brownell (H) def. Liam McClintock – (3-1)  

No. 5   Sean Hughes (H) def. Max Martin – (3-0)    

No. 6   Thomas Kingshott def. Bryan Koh (H) – (3-0)

No. 7   Arjun Kochhar def. Dylan Murray (H) – (3-1)

No. 8   Devin McLaughlin (H) def. Pierson Broadwater – (3-0)

No. 9   Alexi Gosset (H) def. Calvin McCafferty – (3-0)

No. 10 Tripp Kaelin def. Mandela Patrick (H) – (3-1)