Crimson Earns Three Individual Awards in Second-Place Finish at Ivy Championships

Crimson Earns Three Individual Awards in Second-Place Finish at Ivy Championships

Pictured: Alex Meyer received the Harold S Ulen and Phil Moriarty Awards at the 2010 Ivy Championships.
Photo Courtesy: David Silverman

The men’s swimming and diving team placed second at the 2010 Ivy League Championships, hosted by Princeton at DeNunzio Pool. Harvard totaled 1,341.5 points over the three days of competition, second only to Princeton’s total of 1,552.5 as the Tigers captured their 19th overall league title.

The Crimson maintained its stronghold in the distance events, as Alex Meyer took the title in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 9:01.87, nearly nine seconds ahead of the second-place finisher. Blake Lewkowitz took third in the event with a time of 9:10.87. Robert Newell followed with a third-place finish in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:47.09 and Jordan Diekema took eighth in the event with a 1:52.07 result. Justin Davidson and Owen Wurzbacher finished fifth and eighth, respectively, in the 200 breaststroke.

Niall Janney placed third in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:49.12, and was followed closely by teammate Nicholas Tan who placed fifth with a 1:49.98 final time.

Meyer was given two awards at the end of the meet as he received the Harold S Ulen Award (career high point swimmer) and the Phil Moriarty Award (meet high point swimmer). Michael Stanton, who took the title in both the three-meter and one-meter diving competitions, received the Karl B Michael Award, given to the top-scoring diver at the meet.

Next on the schedule for Harvard are the NCAA Zone A Diving competition March 12-14 in Piscataway, N.J. The NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships take place March 25-27 in Columbus, Ohio.

Video has no source Url in classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000"width="425" height="344" codebase=",0,40,0">