Men's Swimming and Diving Receives 28 All-Ivy Honors

Men's Swimming and Diving Receives 28 All-Ivy Honors

The Crimson earned 28 All-Ivy honors with Satterthwaite and Katis combining for 13 (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Sophomore Chris Satterthwaite was awarded seven All-Ivy honors and freshman Chuck Katis picked up six as the Harvard men’s swimming and diving team totaled 28 All-Ivy selections for its performance at the 2012 Ivy League Championships.

Satterthwaite, who shared the Phil Moriarty Award as the Swimmer of the Meet, earned four first team selections and three second team selections to become the first Crimson since Geoff Rathgeber ’08 in 2008 to tally seven All-Ivy accolades. Satterthwaite set new program records en route to wins in the 50 free (19.84) and 100 free (43.18), and also captured the 200 free (1:34.05) title and was a member of the school record setting 400 free relay (2:53.22) team. The sophomore received three second team honors as a member of the second-place finishing 200 free relay, 800 free relay and 400 medley relay teams. He now boasts nine career All-Ivy selections after earning two second team nods a year ago.

Katis received six second team honors at his first championship meet. He set school records while placing second in the 100 breast (53.17) and 200 breast (1:56.49), and was also the runner up in the 200 IM. The freshman was also a member of three second-place relays, including the 800 free relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay.

Freshman Mike Mosca earned a pair of all-conference selections in the one and three meter dive. Mosca won the one meter with a score of 359.55, marking the seventh time in 11 years the event has gone to the Crimson. He also placed second on the three meter with a score of 366.25, just edging out teammate Michael Stanton.

Other All-Ivy first team honorees include Griffin Schumacher, Zach Walters and Oliver Lee, who teamed with Satterthwaite in the 400 free relay. Each also earned a pair of second team selections in the relay events along with Jack Pretto who earned two honors and Niall Janney and Spenser Goodman who picked up one apiece.