Olympian Meyer ’10 Joins Men’s Swimming and Diving Coaching Staff

Olympian Meyer ’10 Joins Men’s Swimming and Diving Coaching Staff

Meyer joins the Harvard coaching staff after competing in the 2012 London Olympics.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – 2012 Olympian and Harvard alumnus Alex Meyer '10 has been added to the men's swimming and diving coaching staff as a volunteer assistant coach.

"We are pleased to have Alex join our coaching staff," Tim Murphy, the Ulen-Brooks Endowed Coach for Harvard Men's Swimming and Diving commented. "His firsthand experience balancing the academic and athletic rigors of Harvard make him an ideal choice to help our swimmers.  His leadership and experience at the NCAA Championships and on an international level will allow him to make an immediate impact on our program."

Meyer placed 10th in the 10k marathon at the 2012 London Olympics after becoming the first American athlete to qualify for the games with a fourth-place finish in the 10k at the 2011 Open Water World Championships. He was named USA Swimming's 2011 Fran Crippen Memorial Male Open Water Swimmer of the Year after winning the 10k at the USA Swimming Open Water National Championships, and in 2010 won Gold in the 25k at the Open Water World Championships.

Meyer was an All-American and five-time Ivy League Champion during his time in Cambridge. As a senior, he placed 14th in the 1,650 free at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America status after winning the 500, 1,000 and 1,650 free events at the Ivy League Championships. The victories earned him the Phil Moriarty Award as the high-point swimmer of the meet and helped him secure the Harold S. Ulen Award as the Ancient Eight's career high-point swimmer.

The Ithaca, N.Y., native also won the 1,000 and 1,650 free at the 2009 Ivy League Championships and competed at the NCAA Championships in the 500 and 1,650 free. He boasts the second fastest time in program history in the 1,000 (8:57.28) and 1,650 (14:58.14), as well as the eighth fastest time in the 500 free (4:22.25).

Meyer graduated from Harvad in 2010 and was a member of Pforzheimer House.