Harvard Set to Host ECAC Meet at Blodgett Pool

Harvard Set to Host ECAC Meet at Blodgett Pool

Blodgett Pool will host the ECAC meet this weekend (photo Kevin Burns).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- Harvard's unbeaten men's and women's teams will host and compete in the ECAC Open Swimming and Diving Championships this weekend.

Athletes representing schools from across the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic will converge on Blodgett Pool for two sessions per day Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Preliminary races and finals begin at 10 a.m. and 6 p.m., respectively, Friday and Saturday. Sunday's trials start at 9 a.m. and will be followed by finals at 4 p.m.

The Teams
Athletes from 29 men's teams and 26 women's teams are scheduled to compete, including divers from 16 women's and 15 men's programs. Harvard, which begins its championship season after wrapping up Ivy League women's and men's dual titles, is one of nine schools slated to send both swimmers and divers from both its men's and women's programs.

Be There
Adult single-session and all-session tickets are available online and in person $10 per session. Student tickets are $5 per session, while youth enter for free.

Follow From Anywhere
Live results for the meet will be available here. Fans can follow on mobile devices with the free Meet Mobile app from Apple's App Store or Google Play.

Men's Meet History
The Crimson men's team has competed at the ECAC Championships six times, winning team titles in 2007 and 2008. Harvard earned back-to-back runner-up finishes in 2009 and 2010 and previously competed in 2005 (fifth place) and 2007 (ninth). Harvard's two second-place finishes came behind Navy, which captured its fourth straight ECAC team championship last season at its home pool in Annapolis, Md. Bucknell edged Army for second place.

Women's Meet History
Navy also won last season's ECAC women's championship, while Harvard and Marist tied for second. The Crimson won three events at the meet: Clare Foster in the 200-yard individual medley (2:06.27), Cassandra Corneau on the one-meter board (242.60) and Kristi Korsberg '12, Margaret Fish '12, Ellie Johnson and Alicia Lightbourne '12 in the 400 freestyle relay (3:29.68).