Men's Swimming and Diving Hands Out Yearly Awards

Men's Swimming and Diving Hands Out Yearly Awards

The 2014-15 Harvard Men's Swimming and Diving award winners. (Ray Yeager)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard men's swimming and diving program recently handed out its end-of-year team awards at its annual banquet to close out the 2014-15 season.

Diver George Doran was honored with the Harold S. Ulen Trophy, given to the senior who best demonstrates those qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and team cooperation. Doran was an important piece to the Harvard swimming and diving team, helping the Crimson to lay claim to one of the deepest diving corps in New England during his tenure in Cambridge.  

The Stowell Trophy was awarded to Spenser Goodman as the senior who, through perseverance, diligence and untiring self-sacrifice, has most improved during his collegiate career. Goodman leaves Harvard with a pair of top-10 all-time program times, coming in the 100 and 200 freestyle. He also was a part of the Harvard-record-setting performance in the 800 free relay a year ago.

Both Christian Yeager and Jacob Luna received the Jorgensen Trophy, the award given to the most improved member(s) of the junior class. Yeager and Luna were instrumental to the Crimson in and out of the pool this season during its quest for a repeat Ivy League championship. Yeager was a top-Crimson finisher in the 400 IM during the Ivy League Championships, and now owns three top-3 Harvard times (200 IM, 400 IM and 200 back). For his part, Luna was a member of the Ivy League champion 400 medley relay in 2014-15 and was the top Crimson finisher in both the 100 and 200 fly as well.

Jack Manchester was presented with the Eugene B. Wyman Trophy, awarded to the team member who scores the most points in dual meets. Manchester, who represented Harvard in the 2015 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, was a part of two program records this season, setting the Harvard and Ivy League record in the 200 back (1:41.44) and the 200 medley relay, along with Shane McNamara, Steven Tan and Griffin Schumacher.

Schumacher and Mike Mosca both share the William J. Brooks Trophy this season, presented to the swimmer or diver who contributes the most to the success of the team. Schumacher, a team captain alongside Mike Gaudiani for the 2014-15 season, set the second-best program times in both the 50 and 100 freestyle events, and added another top-10 finish in the 200 free. In total, he is a part of three Harvard program records, in the 200 medley relay, the 200 free relay and the 400 free relay. 

Mosca – the Ron Keehold Career High Point Diver Award winner and three-time Karl B. Michael High Point Diver Award recipient at the Ivy League Championships – set a Harvard, Ivy League meet and DeNunzio Pool record with his incredible combination score of 457.35 on the 3-meter. Before Mosca's stellar career concluded at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships this March, the Tenafly, New Jersey, native walked away with the Ivy League Championships record on both boards. On Thursday of the Championships, he became the first-ever Ivy diver to win the 1-meter title four consecutive years in a row.