Four Regattas Lie Ahead for Coed Sailing

Four Regattas Lie Ahead for Coed Sailing

Harvard took first-place at the BU Trophy April 12 (Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – With two full weekends remaining on the spring schedule, Harvard coed sailing will split up for four regattas around the Northeast. The Crimson will scatter to the Owen/Mosbacher/Knapp Trophy (at Yale), Thompson Trophy (at Coast Guard), Oberg Trophy (at MIT/Northeastern), and Savin Central Series Four (at Boston College).

Social Stream
Use the all new Social Stream on to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all four platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time.

Follow the Harvard sailing team on Twitter and Instagram: @HarvardSailing

Last Time Out
Hosting the NEISA Team Race Championship with a chance to qualify for the National Team Race Championship, Harvard finished one spot out of the top-four, placing fifth with a 10-8 record.

Harvard went 8-3 in the opening round robin stage, securing its place in the eight-team final group. The Crimson rallied after losing two of its first three matchups, and won its final six contests to advance to the final round.

Racing FJs, the Crimson posted victories over Vermont and Roger Williams in the finals, but went 2-5 in the stage to fall to fifth-place. Harvard needed to finish among the top-four teams in order to qualify for the National Team Race Championship.

Related Link: Coed Sailing Takes Fifth at NEISA Team Race Championship

About the Owen/Mosbacher/Knapp Trophy
Yale will serve as the host for the event, with the student-athletes sailing in FJs and Z420s. The regatta will feature two divisions, and the Crimson will look to improve on its eighth-place result in 2014. 

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*: A-Division: Brian Drumm/Jacob Bradt | B-Division: Andrew Mollerus/Sydney Karnovsky

About the Thompson Trophy
Sailors at the Coast Guard-hosted event will race in FJs and Z420s, competing in a field of 10 NEISA and five MAISA teams, as well as one each from the MCSA, PCCSC, and SAISA. The Crimson finished third in 2014.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*:  A-Division: Michael Drumm/Kevin Coakley | B-Division: Gram Slattery/Julia Lord | C-Division: Marek Zeleski/Rebecca Frankel

About the Oberg Trophy
MIT and Northeastern combine to host the Oberg Trophy, which will feature 18 NEISA teams. Finishing third a year ago, sailors will compete in FJs and NC Fireflies.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*:  A-Division: Nick Sertl/Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj | B-Division: Matthew Mollerus/Ari Gross | C-Division: Bennett Capozzi/Adam Brodheim

About Savin Central Series Four
18 NEISA teams will take to the water at the Boston College-hosted regatta, sailing FJs and Z420s. Harvard took third-place in 2014.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*: A-Division: Taylor Ladd/Kristina Jakobson | B-Division: Dylan Farrell/Kristin Anderson

*All boat pairings subject to change

Sailors in Boston will race in five knot winds on Saturday through one-foot waves, with winds increasing slightly to 5-10 knots on Sunday. In Connecticut, Saturday winds will start at 5-10 knots and increase to 10-15 knots in the afternoon. Sunday's conditions will lessen to 5-10 knot winds.

For up-to-date forecasts, click here.

Honor Roll
Skipper Michael Drumm was named the NEISA Coed Sailor of the Week on April 8 after a versatile performance at the Marchiando Trophy Team Race.

Drumm helped Harvard to a 12-3 record at the Marchiando Trophy Team Race at MIT, guiding the Crimson to a runner-up finish.  Sailing as a skipper and crew, he pushed Harvard to wins its first 10 matchups, including a win over eventual champion Yale. His top moment in the regatta came after his dinghy capsized. Drumm quickly righted the boat, and was still able to sail to a first-place result in the race.

First Across the Line
Harvard picked up its first win of the spring April 4-5, ending the BU Trophy on top of the standings. Nick Sertl and Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj controlled the A-boat, while Bennett Capozzi and Olivia Kjorlien sailed in the B-division, helping Harvard earn its third win of the year when racing FJs.

Close Margins
Harvard has finished in second-place three times to start the spring season at the Southern New England Team Race, Friis Trophy Team Race, and Marchiando Trophy Team Race. Harvard has placed in the top-two 10 times this season.

By The Numbers
Harvard has raced in many different dinghies throughout the season. Through 44 total regattas, the Crimson has posted the best results sailing Larks, FJs, and in regattas featuring multiple vessels.

Boat Type

Average Finish

Average # of Teams




























NC Firefly












Multiple Types in Same Regatta



Pairs on the Water

The women's team's pairs of Taylor Ladd and Kristina Jakobson and Sophie Bermudez and Ashleigh Inglis have spent most regattas together. Bermudez and Inglis have finished in the top-six in seven of nine races, while the duo of Ladd and Jakobson earned their top result at Central Series Six, ending in fifth place.

Keeping It Fresh
The Crimson's freshmen class has hit the water sailing to begin its collegiate careers. For the coed team, Kevin Coakley and Nick Sertl have both competed in the A-division in many of the top regattas, helping the Crimson to a bevy of top-10 results. On the women's side, Taylor Ladd skippered both the A- and B-boats, and has helped Harvard to five top-10 finishes.

Behind the Crimson

Fun in Fall
As the fall season progressed, the Crimson turned in consistent results near the top of the leaderboards. From October to November, Harvard's two squads combined to place in the top-five in nine regattas and in the top-10 in 16 out of 21 team contests.

Fall Mid-Season Review

Leading the Way
Harvard sailing head coach Michael O'Connor is in his 18th season at the helm of the Crimson fleet. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won national team race championships in 2002 and 2003, as well as the 2003 national coed championship and the women's national title in 2005.

Aye Aye, Captain
Juniors Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were named team captains for the 2014 schedule. Mollerus will lead the coed team, while Karnovsky takes charge of the women's squad.

Up Next
Harvard will combine with MIT to host the Boston Dinghy Cup Challenge on the Charles River, while also sending student-athletes to the NEISA Women's Championship (at Boston College), Admiral's Cup (at USMMA), and Morris Trophy (at Boston University).