Women’s Sailing Eyes NEISA Team Race Championship, Coed Fleet to Vie for Three Regattas

Women’s Sailing Eyes NEISA Team Race Championship, Coed Fleet to Vie for Three Regattas

Harvard's women's team can qualify for the ICSA National Team Race Championships with a top-four finish (Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In its final weekend with multiple regattas, Harvard sailing will split up for four events scattered around the Northeast. The women's squad will race for a chance to compete in the ICSA National Team Race Championship at the NEISA Team Race Championship, while the coed squad will race at the Boston Dinghy Cup Challenge (co-hosted by Harvard and MIT), Admiral's Cup (at USMMA) and Morris Trophy (at Boston University).

Social Stream
Use the all new Social Stream on GoCrimson.com to stay connected with the Crimson on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube this year. The Social Stream brings the conversation from all four platforms into one convenient location, allowing fans of all Harvard Athletics teams to monitor the action in real time.

Follow the Harvard sailing team on Twitter and Instagram: @HarvardSailing

Last Time Out
Harvard coed sailing competed in four regattas around the Northeast, finishing no lower than seventh with three top-four results. The Crimson had its best outing at the Owen/Mosbacher/Knapp Trophy, coming in second, while also finishing third at the Oberg Trophy and fourth at Savin Central Series Four.

Racing Z420's at the Yale-hosted Owen/Mosbacher/Knapp Trophy, Harvard ended as the runner-up. Brian Drumm and Jacob Bradt placed third in the A-Division, tallying one win and six top-three results. Sailing in the B-division, Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky wound up second with five wins and did not finish lower than seventh.

Related Link: Coed Sailing Posts Three Top-Four Results

About the NEISA Women's Team Race Championship
Boston College hosts the NEISA Women's Team Race Championship, where the top four teams will qualify for the ICSA National Team Race Championship. Eighteen teams will race for the title in FJs and Z420s. 

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*:  Sophie Bermudez/Ashleigh Inglis | Taylor Ladd/Kristina Jakobson | Ari Gross

About the Boston Dinghy Cup Challenge
Harvard and MIT co-host the Boston Dinghy Cup Challenge, where 12 NEISA, three MAIS, and four school from other conferences will compete in FJs and Fireflies.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*:  A-Division: Michael Drumm/Kevin Coakley | B-Division: Gram Slattery/Julia Lord | C-Division: Nick Sertl/Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj

About the Admiral's Cup
USMMA-King's Point serves as the host for the Admiral's Cup, with 420s, FJs, and Lasers being raced. Harvard finished 12th at the regatta in 2014. 

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*:  Brian Drumm/Jacob Bradt | Andrew Mollerus/Sydney Karnovsky | Marek Zeleski, Matthew Mollerus

About the Morris Trophy
Fourteen NEISA, two MAISA and two other teams will sail for the Morris Trophy, hosted by Boston University. Student-athletes will navigate the Charles in FJs.

Projected Lineup (Skipper/Crew)*: A-Division: Bennett Capozzi/Kristin Anderson | B-Division: Dylan Farrell/Rebecca Frankel

*All boat pairings subject to change

Sailors in Boston will race in 10 knot winds on Saturday, diminishing to five knots in the afternoon. Sunday's conditions will remain steady with five knot winds. Student-athletes competing off of Long Island will face 5-10 knot winds on Saturday and Sunday, with waves at one foot or less.

For up-to-date forecasts, click here.

Honor Roll
Skipper Michael Drumm was named the NEISA Coed Sailor of the Week on April 8 after a versatile performance at the Marchiando Trophy Team Race.

Drumm helped Harvard to a 12-3 record at the Marchiando Trophy Team Race at MIT, guiding the Crimson to a runner-up finish.  Sailing as a skipper and crew, he pushed Harvard to wins in its first 10 matchups, including a win over eventual champion Yale. His top moment in the regatta came after his dinghy capsized. Drumm quickly righted the boat, and was still able to sail to a first-place result in the race.

First Across the Line
Harvard picked up its first win of the spring April 4-5, ending the BU Trophy on top of the standings. Nick Sertl and Nomin-Erdene Jagdagdorj controlled the A-boat, while Bennett Capozzi and Olivia Kjorlien sailed in the B-division, helping Harvard earn its third win of the year when racing FJs.

Close Margins
Harvard has finished in second-place four times during the spring season at the Southern New England Team Race, Friis Trophy Team Race, Marchiando Trophy Team Race, and Owen/Mosbacher/Knapp Trophies. Harvard has placed in the top-two 11 times this season.

By The Numbers
Harvard has raced in many different dinghies throughout the season. Through 48 total regattas, the Crimson has posted the best results sailing Larks, FJs, and in regattas featuring multiple vessels.

Boat Type

Average Finish

Average # of Teams




























NC Firefly












Multiple Types in Same Regatta



Pairs on the Water

The women's team's pairs of Taylor Ladd and Kristina Jakobson and Sophie Bermudez and Ashleigh Inglis have spent most regattas together. Bermudez and Inglis have finished in the top-six in seven of nine races, while the duo of Ladd and Jakobson earned their top result at Central Series Six, ending in fifth place.

Keeping It Fresh
The Crimson's freshmen class has hit the water sailing to begin its collegiate careers. For the coed team, Kevin Coakley and Nick Sertl have both competed in the A-division in many of the top regattas, helping the Crimson to a bevy of top-10 results. On the women's side, Taylor Ladd skippered both the A- and B-boats, and has helped Harvard to five top-10 finishes.

Behind the Crimson

Fun in Fall
As the fall season progressed, the Crimson turned in consistent results near the top of the leaderboards. From October to November, Harvard's two squads combined to place in the top-five in nine regattas and in the top-10 in 16 out of 21 team contests.

Fall Mid-Season Review

Leading the Way
Harvard sailing head coach Michael O'Connor is in his 18th season at the helm of the Crimson fleet. Since he took over the Crimson program in 1997, Harvard has won national team race championships in 2002 and 2003, as well as the 2003 national coed championship and the women's national title in 2005.

Aye Aye, Captain
Juniors Andrew Mollerus and Sydney Karnovsky were named team captains for the 2014 schedule. Mollerus will lead the coed team, while Karnovsky takes charge of the women's squad.

Up Next
Harvard will compete in the New England Dinghy Championship May 2-3, hosted by Salve Regina.