11 Sailers Receive ICSA All-Academic Honors

11 Sailers Receive ICSA All-Academic Honors

Each of Harvard's juniors and seniors were honored for their academic performance (Office of Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) has released the names of 170 student-athletes who have been named to the 2015 All-Academic Sailing Team, including all 11 of Harvard's juniors and seniors from this past year.

Rising seniors Sophie Bermudez, Jacob Bradt, Kristina Jakobson, Sydney Karnovsky, Andrew Mollerus, and Marek Zaleski each received All-Academic honors.  Bermudez, Mollerus and Zeleski served as captains throughout the season, with Mollerus earning All-NEISA second team honors. Bradt, Karnovsky and Jakobson, meanwhile, raced primarily as crew, with both Bradt and Karnovsky also earning All-NEISA second team plaudits.

In addition to the six juniors, five recent graduates were also honored by the ICSA; Brian Drumm '15, Michael Drumm '15, Rebecca Frankel '15, Ashleigh Inglis '15 and Gram Slattery '15. Brian Drumm, Michael Drumm and Slattery captained their respective boats, with Frankel and Inglis serving as crew.

Mollerus, Brian Drumm and Frankel were also honored earlier this year with induction into the Harvard chapter of Phi Betta Kappa, the nation's oldest honor society.

The ICSA All-Academic Sailing Team honors juniors and seniors who have participated as a competitor or alternate in seven regattas and have a cumulative GPA of 3.3 or higher on a 4.0 scale.