Captains, Award Winners Announced at Annual Track and Field Banquet

Photo courtesy of Ryan Sampson
Photo courtesy of Ryan Sampson

Ben Glauser and Jarvis Harris named men's co-captains, while Ashley Collinsworth and Erika Veidis named co-captains on the women's side.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard track and field team held its annual banquet last night at the Gordon Indoor Track. The team handed out 26 awards, and named rising seniors Ben Glauser and Jarvis Harris co-captains for the men's team, while rising seniors Ashley Collinsworth and Erika Veidis were named the 2014-15 captains on the women's side.  

Glauser becomes the first two-time captain for men's track and field since Joseph R. Ciollo '99.

The two teams are coming off phenomenal performances at the Ivy League Heptagonal Championships, as the women won their first title since 1990, and second overall, while the men scored the most points since 1983.

Senior Adabelle Ekechukwu earned the Francis J. Haggerty Award for Excellence in women's track and field. The Oak Brook, Ill., native also won the Carver Hammer and Weight Award.

Sophomore Autumne Franklin was named the team's Most Valuable Performer, also earning the HY Track Prize for her performance against the Ivy rival.

Freshman Nikki Okwelogu was tabbed the women's Most Outstanding Performer after winning the Heps shot put title with a new school record last weekend. Okwelogu also earned the Little Shot Put Award.

Franklin joined teammates freshman Jade Miller, freshman Jackie Modesett and junior Gabrielle Scott as Hennessy Mile Relay Award winners. On the men's side, Harris, freshman James Heckendorn, senior Damani Wilson, junior Jesaiah Coy and senior Jared Kadich took home the honor.

The Pappy Hunt Improvement Award, named after the first women's track coach at Harvard, went to Collinsworth and junior Molly Renfer. Sophomore Allison Morrison took home the women's Beyond the Call of Duty Award.

Collinsworth, Miller, Franklin and junior Danielle Barbian – who set a school record in the 4x1 last weekend at Heps – received the Bingham Relay Award.

The women's Unsung Hero award went to Sophie Randolph. The Rita Raju Memorial Award, given to a senior who, during her career at Harvard, demonstrated exceptional dedication to track, was given to senior Morgan Kelly. Renfer earned the Watters Mile Award, named for O John Nickerson Watters '26, an inspirational team performer and superb competitior.

On the men's side, Harris took home the Treasurer's Award, given for his performance at the HY Meet.

Senior Dustin Brode was named the Jannergren "Overcoming Physcial Adversity" Award winner and also earned the McCurdy Beyond the Call of Duty accolade, which he shared with senior Maksim Korolev.

Tim Moan was tabbed the Nelson Unsung Hero, while Ben Glauser received the Carver Hammer and Weight Award. Senior James Leakos, freshman Andrew Roney and senior Jared Kadich all were presented the Helmus Improvement Awards.

Elliot Safo, who broke the Harvard long jump record that had stood for 93 years last weekend at Heps, was named the Gourdin Broad Jump Award Winner, while Roney took home the Robert W. Harwood Pole Vault Award.

Glauser was named the Ed Stowell Award winner, bestowed to the field athlete that demonstrates exceptional enthusiasm, optimism and continued hard work. Julian Nunally received the McLaughlin Award given to the freshman that most embodies the traits of James McLaughlin '52, who embodied the qualities of fellowship and sportsmanship before he passed away as a freshman.

Miller and Kadich each won the Westmore Wilcox 440 honor. Miller also took home the Rand Hurdle Award, which she shared with Harris.

Wilson and Barbian each receieved the Schick Sprint Award.

2013-14 Award Winners
Francis J. Haggerty Award for Excellence in Women's Track and Field – Adabelle Ekechukwu
Women's Most Valuable Performer Award -Autumne Franklin
Women's Most Outstanding Performer Award – Nikki Okwelogu
HY Track Prize – Autumne Franklin
Pappy Hunt Improvement Award -Ashley Collinsworth/Molly Renfer
Hennessy Mile Relay Award – 4x4-Jarvis Harris, James Heckendorn, Damani Wilson, Jesaiah Coy, Jared Kadich,
W4x4 - Autumne Franklin, Jade Miller, Jackie Modesett, Gabrielle Scott
Women's Beyond the Call of Duty Award - Allison Morrison
Bingham Relay Award - 4x1 – Ashley Collinsworth, Jade Miller, Autumne Franklin, Danielle Barbian
Women's Unsung Hero Award – Sophie Randolph
Rita Raju Memorial Award – Morgan Kelly
Little Shot Put Award – Nikki Okwelogu
Watters Mile Award – Molly Renfer
McLaughlin Award – Julian Nunally
Treasurer's Award – Jarvis Harris
Jannergren "Overcoming Physical Adversity" Award – Dustin Brode
Nelson Unsung Hero Award – Tim Moan
McCurdy Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Maksim Korolev/Dustin Brode
Helmus Improvement Awards – James Leakos, Andrew Roney, Jared Kadich
Carver Hammer and Weight Award – Adabelle Ekechukwu/Ben Glauser
Gourdin Broad Jump Award – Elliot Safo
Ohiri Triple Jump Award – Efe Uwaifo
Robert W. Harwood Pole Vault Award – Andrew Roney
Rand Hurdle Award – Jarvis Harris/Jade Miller
Schick Sprint Award – Danielle Barbian/Damani Wilson
Ed Stowell Award – Ben Glauser
Westmore Wilcox 440 Award – Jared Kadich/Jade Miller