Women’s Ice Hockey Hosts Annual Year-End Banquet

Women’s Ice Hockey Hosts Annual Year-End Banquet

BOSTON – The Harvard women's hockey team held its annual year-end banquet last weekend, celebrating the 2017-18 season, honoring the senior class and recognizing team award winners. The banquet was held at the Harvard Club of Boston and drew numerous friends and family to celebrate the team's accomplishments this past season. 

Nikki Friesen, Dani Krzyszczyk, Haley Mullins and Chelsea Ziadie were recognized for their four years of commitment and dedication to the Harvard Hockey program and were presented with their black game jerseys as a token of appreciation. 

Chelsea Ziadie was then honored as this season's Most Valuable Player, having been a staple on the blue line. She appeared in all 31 games and earned seven of her eight points during conference play. All three of Ziadie's goals during the 2017-18 season were power-play tallies, which led the team. She blocked 40 shots from making it to the Crimson net this season and was a consistent member of both the power-play and penalty kill units. Ziadie did not tally a single penalty minute during the regular season and was one of just ten ECAC players to not commit a single infraction having appeared in at least 50 percent of team games. 

The Joe Bertagna Most Improved Player award was won by Nikki Friesen. Friesen played in all 31 games this season, setting a career high in single season points. This season, she netted a score against No. 2/3 Boston College when the Crimson played at Conte Forum and then again later in January against Ivy rival Yale. She also doled out an assist on teammate Lunasa Sano's first career goal at Princeton and added a helper on Kat Hughes' game-tying goal against No. 5/5 Cornell. 

This year's Dooley Award, presented to the player who best combines the qualities of sportsmanship, enthusiasm, and devotion to her team and to the game of ice hockey, was awarded to Kate Hallett. Hallett served as team captain as a junior this season and donned the Crimson jersey in 24 games. Despite missing portions of the season due to injury, Hallett remained a driving force on the bench, providing constant encouragement and motivation to her teammates. 

After its debut last season, the program again decided to present the Johanna "JoJo" Boynton Award given to the person who, without garnering recognition or praise, has positively influenced the women's Harvard hockey program with a tremendous attitude, passion for the sport and a willingness to help in any capacity, while sharing in HH's commitment to excellence. The program was thrilled to announce this year's winner as Ray Phelan.

Following the awards ceremony, Kate Hallett and Lexie Laing were announced as team captains for the 2018-19 season.