MSG Networks Adds Jennifer Botterill, A.J. Mleczko as New York Islanders Studio Analysts

MSG Networks Adds Jennifer Botterill, A.J. Mleczko as New York Islanders Studio Analysts

Mleczko Announcement
Botterill Announcement 

NEW YORK – MSG Networks recently announced the addition of Harvard hockey alumni Jennifer Botterill '02-03 and A.J. Mleczko '97-99 as studio analysts for the New York Islanders. Mleczko has contributed five times since the beginning of the season while Botterill will make her debut tonight, Nov. 13, when the Islanders welcome Vancouver. The pair will be featured on 20 broadcasts each alongside Shannon Hogan, Butch Goring and Brendan Burke. 

"It's truly an honor to join MSG Networks for coverage of the New York Islanders, one of the most storied franchises in the league," said Mleczko. "I've been fortunate to have had some great moments throughout my career, both as a player and a broadcaster, and to have the opportunity to now team up with Butch, Brendan, Shannon and the entire MSG Networks' Islanders family is incredibly exciting." 

"I'm thrilled for the opportunity to join MSG Networks and the exceptional New York Islanders broadcast team," said Botterill. "It's a tremendous honor to be able to cover the Islanders, one of the NHL's iconic franchises, and work alongside the entire MSG Networks' Islanders family." 

Botterill remains the only student-athlete to be a two-time Patty Kazmaier Award winner as the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey (2001, 2003) and was a four-time first team All America selection. In addition to her national recognition, Botterill claimed three ECAC Player of the Year honors (2000, 2001, 2003), ECAC Rookie of the Year (1999), was a four-time First Team All-ECAC Hockey selection,and a three-time Beanpot MVP. She received the Radcliffe Prize in 2003 and scored the game winning goal in overtime that led Harvard to the 1999 AWCHA National Championship along with helping the Crimson to two NCAA Frozen Four appearances. She remains Harvard hockey's all-time leading scorer with 340 career points on 157 goals and 183 assists. She is the NCAA record holder in career points per game at 3.07 and single game points with 10. Internationally, she's represented Team Canada in four Olympics, winning gold three times and has won gold at the IIHF World Championships five times.


As a four year letterwinner, Mleczko was co-captain of her senior squad in 1999, leading her team to victory as Beanpot Champions, Ivy League Champions, ECAC Tournament Champions, and AWCHA National Champions. Mleczko's name also blankets the record books, including ranking fifth all-time for career points with 257, fourth all-time in career goals with 128 and first all-time in single season points with 114 (1998-99), among many other accomplishments. 

A.J. was recognized far and wide for her abilities on the ice: ECAC Rookie of the Year in 1994, Second Team All-ECAC in 1995, First Team All-ECAC in 1999, and 1999 ECAC Player of the Year. Among her 1999 accomplishments were: Beanpot Tournament MVP, ECAC Tournament MVP, First Team All-American Honors, and Radcliffe Prize recipient. Most notably, the 1999 Patty Kazmaier Award recipient, an award presented to the top female collegiate ice hockey player in the nation. Both during and following her collegiate career, A.J. was a member of the USA Olympic Hockey team; in 1998, winning the first-ever Gold Medal for women's ice hockey, and in 2002, where she collected silver. She was inducted into the New England Women's Ice Hockey Hall of Fame in 2002.