VanderMeulen, Tetreault Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

VanderMeulen, Tetreault Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Tetreault(left) and VanderMeulen (Left) are listed among the top 50 women’s lacrosse student-athletes in the country (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Junior’s Jennifer VanderMeulen and Danielle Tetreault have been named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Watch List, which is comprised of the top 50 women’s lacrosse student-athletes from all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse.

VanderMeulen was named to the Synapse Sports All-America second team, IWLCA All-Region first team and All-Ivy League first team in 2011 after ranking 18th in the NCAA in goals per game (3.0) and 30th in goals (48). VanderMeulen was a All-America third team selection as a freshman, as well as a member of the All-Rookie squad, IWLCA All-Region first team, All-Ivy League first team and the unanimous choice as the Ivy League Rookie of the Year. The junior already ranks 10th in program history with 104 goals, while her 56 scores in 2010 rank fifth on Harvard’s single-season list.

Tetreault was a first team all-region and second team all-Ivy selection a year ago, and ranked 31st in the nation with 2.63 goals per game. Her 42 goals scored were second on the team to VanderMeulen’s 48, while her seven assists ranked her first among the Crimson. Tetreault recorded 20 goals and 10 assists as a freshman, and boasts 62 goals, 17 assists, and 79 points in 31 career games.

VanderMeulen and Tetreault join current teammates Micaela Cyr (2011) and Jess Halpern (2010) as recent Crimson to be named to the Tewaaraton Watch List.

The Selection Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. In late April, both lists will be narrowed to 25 and these men and women will earn the distinction of Tewaaarton Nominees. In mid-May, the five Finalists in each category will be announced. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31st, at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington D.C.

Event details and ticket information can be found at