Harvard Releases 2013 Women’s Lacrosse Schedule

Harvard Releases 2013 Women’s Lacrosse Schedule

Danielle Tetreault led Harvard with 28 goals last season (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard women's lacrosse team  will play three teams that competed in the 2012 NCAA tournament and four squads that appeared in last year's final national poll during the upcoming 2013 season.

The Crimson, which is entering the sixth season under head coach Lisa Miller, posted a 9-7 overall record and 5-2 mark in Ivy League play, finishing tied for second in the conference in 2012. Harvard reached the Ivy League tournament semifinals last season and reached as high as No. 20 in the national polls.
Harvard, which returns 19 players from last spring, is slated to play 14 games during its 2013 campaign. The Crimson will open the year at Stanford Feb. 24, before beginning Ivy League action in Ithaca, N.Y., against Cornell March 2.
On March 9, Harvard will host Penn in the Crimson home opener at the Soldiers Field Lacrosse Stadium, and will then travel west to visit defending NCAA champion Northwestern March 17 and will play at Marquette March 19. After returning home to face archrival Yale at Harvard Stadium March 23, Harvard will ready for local rival Boston University March 29.
The Crimson opens April by playing at Nashville on the first day of the month, before preparing for a road game at Brown April 6. Harvard will step back into non-conference play at Holy Cross April 10, followed by a trip to Princeton April 13. After closing its non-conference slate at Boston College April 17, Harvard will welcome Columbia to Cambridge for Senior Day April 20.

Harvard will conclude its regular season at Dartmouth April 27. The Ivy League tournament will follow at the site of the regular season champion May 3-5.

Senior midfielder Micaela Cyr will serve as captain for the upcoming season. Cyr, who earned All-Ivy honors last spring, is one of five Harvard players who return who garnered all-conference accolades last year, including Danielle Tetreault, Mariel Jenkins, Jennifer VanderMeulen and Kelly Weis