Women’s Lacrosse 2017 Schedule Announced

Women’s Lacrosse 2017 Schedule Announced

Megan Hennessey is one of three co-captains for the Crimson this season (Penny Ashford).


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Eight of the top 10 goal scorers return from an NCAA top-50 scoring offense from last year. And after another strong campaign against a handful of ranked opponents, The Carole Kleinfelder Head Coach for Harvard Women's Lacrosse, Lisa Miller, and the Harvard women's lacrosse squad look to hit the ground running in 2017. This season's schedule for the Harvard women's lacrosse team has been released, as announced by Harvard Athletics.

The Crimson is slated to host nine contests this season and will clash with seven 2016 NCAA Tournament teams. All home games will be broadcast live on the Ivy League Digital Network.

After posting a 9-7 (4-3 Ivy) record last season, Harvard will open up this year's campaign in late February with non-conference away games against New Hampshire and Beantown rival Boston College. Ancient Eight play will begin when Yale travels to Cambridge on March 4 for the Crimson's first home tilt of the campaign.

Harvard will take a hiatus from conference play, hosting Siena and Ohio State before traveling down to Florida to face Syracuse on March 17 in a neutral site matchup. The Orange reached the Final Four in 2016 before falling to top-seeded Maryland. A home tilt against commonwealth rival Massachusetts will mark the end of the break from Ivy League opponents.

Columbia and PAC-12 foe Stanford will travel to Cambridge to wrap up the Crimson's challenging March schedule. Away contests against Ivy rivals Dartmouth and Princeton will start the April slate. After clashing with UMass-Lowell, the remaining Ancient Eight opponents, Brown, Penn and Cornell, will close out the regular season campaign on April 29.

Playoff action will ensue on May 5 in the Ivy League tournament, followed by the NCAA tournament on May 12. The Crimson reached the Ancient Eight finals two of the last three years. The Ivy League tournament will be held May 5 and 7 at the home field of the regular-season champion.