Romeo and Burke Highlight Six All-Ivy Selections for Women’s Lacrosse

Romeo and Burke Highlight Six All-Ivy Selections for Women’s Lacrosse

PRINCETON, N.J. – On Wednesday, May 3, six Harvard women's lacrosse players were named All-Ivy League for the 2017 season, as the conference announced its year-end awards. Garnering spots on the first team were seniors Marisa Romeo and Marina Burke. Maeve McMahon earned a second team selection, while Emma Ford, Julia Glynn and Megan Hennessey all received honorable mention nods.

Romeo earns the fourth All-Ivy accolade of her career and third-straight on the first team. The attacker from Syracuse, New York leads the team in goals (47), assists (22) and points (69). Her 47 goals is tied for second-most in the Ivy League, while her 69 points ranks third. Earlier this season, she became the fourth student-athlete in program history to eclipse 200 points for her career. She enters the Ivy League Tournament Friday with 223 points. She has been honored as Ivy League Offensive Player of the Week three times this season.

Wednesday's honor was second-straight for Burke, who was a second team selection in 2016. Among the toughest defenders in the Ancient Eight, Burke led the Crimson and was sixth in the conference with 26 caused turnovers. A starter in all 63 games of her career, Burke had career-highs as a senior with 29 ground balls and 13 draw controls, while her five goals matched her career-best from her sophomore campaign.

McMahon earned her first All-Ivy honor with her second team selection. The attacker from Duxbury, Massachusetts excelled on draw controls this season, leading the team with 62, good for third in the conference. She also set new career-highs with 24 goals and 15 ground balls, while also matching her career-bests with eight caused turnovers and 32 points.

Ford's recognition as All-Ivy honorable mention was her third conference accolades during her career after earning first team recognition each of the last two seasons. A leader for the Harvard defense, she has started all 63 games of her career. This season, she caused 15 turnovers, the most in her career. She is just four ground balls shy of 100 entering the Ivy League Tournament.

Glynn is also making her third consecutive appearance on an All-Ivy team. The junior from Manhasset, New York was a constant for the Harvard midfield, excelling at both ends of the field. She scooped up at least 20 ground balls for the third-straight season, while also causing 17 turnovers and scoring 17 goals.

Hennessey collected her second honorable mention accolade in as many years, after setting a new career-high with 19 caused turnovers and matching her best efforts with 34 ground balls and 33 draw controls. She also started each game this season in the Harvard midfield, giving her 63 career starts.

Harvard will be in action Friday at 7 p.m., taking on No. 11 Cornell in the opening round of the Ivy League Tournament. 

Olivia Hompe, Princeton (A)

Alex Condon, Penn (M)

Catie Smith, Cornell (D)

Jenny Graap, Cornell 

Amie Dickson, Cornell (A)
Hope Hanley, Yale (A)
*Olivia Hompe, Princeton (A)
Emily Rogers-Healion, Penn (A)
Marisa Romeo, Harvard (A)
Alex Condon Penn (M)
Kristy Gilbert, Cornell (M)
*Taylor Quinn, Columbia (M)
Marina Burke, Harvard (D)
Katy Junior, Penn (D)
Catie Smith, Cornell (D)
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton (G)

Colby Chanenchuk, Princeton (A)
Caroline Cummings, Penn (A)
Victoria Kalamaras, Columbia (A)
Hafsa Moinuddin, Brown (A)
Maeve McMahon, Harvard (A)
Courtney Weisse, Dartmouth (A)
Lindsey Ewertsen, Columbia (M)
Kathryn Giroux, Dartmouth (M)
Ellie McNulty, Princeton (M)
Marissa Hudgins, Brown (D)
Megan Kelly, Penn (D)
Amanda Leavell, Princeton (D)
Madeline Rodriguez, Princeton (D)
Brittany Brown, Penn (G)

Tess D'Orsi, Princeton (A)
Catherine Ellis, Cornell (A)
Elizabeth Mastrio, Dartmouth (A)
Tess McEvoy, Yale (A)
Izzy Nixon, Yale (A)
Julia Glynn, Harvard (M)
Megan Hennessey, Harvard (M)
Carolyn Paletta, Brown (M)
Laine Parsons, Columbia (M)
Taylor Reed, Cornell (M)
Natalie Stefan, Penn (M)
Emma Ford, Harvard (D)
Victoria Moore, Yale (D)
Renee Poullott, Cornell (G) 

*-unanimous selection
^-second team expanded due to ties in the voting