Carole Kleinfelder Among Inaugural IWLCA Hall of Fame Inductees

Carole Kleinfelder Among Inaugural IWLCA Hall of Fame Inductees

Former Harvard women's lacrosse head coach Carole Kleinfelder will be inducted into the inaugural class of the IWLCA Hall of Fame in November.

GRAND LAKE, Colo. --
The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) has selected six coaches for induction into the organization's first Hall of Fame class, including legendary former Harvard coach Carole Kleinfelder. The inaugural class will be formally enshrined on Thursday, November 16 during the IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony during the IWLCA Annual Meetings at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Kleinfelder guided the Harvard women's lacrosse program as head coach for 25 seasons from 1979-2003. During that span, the Crimson captured 12 Ivy League championships, including seven straight from 1987-1993, and won the 1990 NCAA title. Kleinfelder coached Harvard to a 260-132-3 overall record and 109-67-1 conference mark, while also helping the Crimson earn 52 All-America selections by 28 players during her impressive tenure.

Kleinfelder's 1990 NCAA championship team, which posted a perfect 15-0 record, is the only undefeated team in program history, and was the first Harvard women's team to win an NCAA title. The Crimson defeated Maryland, 8-7, in the championship game. A two-time National Coach of the Year while at Harvard (1990 and 1992), Kleinfelder designed the first molded stick for women's lacrosse and coached the U.S. National Team in 1978 and 1979. Prior to her time in Cambridge, Kleinfelder was the president of the Philadelphia Lacrosse Association from 1974-76 and was later inducted to the Pennsylvania Hall of Fame as an athlete in basketball and both a player and coach in lacrosse in 1996. Kleinfelder picked up lacrosse at West Chester and earned three varsity letters before making the national team and graduating with a degree in physical education in 1965.

In addition to Kleinfelder, the 2017 class is comprised of Missy Foote, Tina Sloan Green,, Sharon Pfluger, Cindy Timchal, and Marge Watson. The class was chosen by the IWLCA's Hall of Fame committee, chaired by Princeton University head coach Chris Sailer.

"The Hall of Fame committee did a phenomenal job selecting our inaugural class," according to Kathy Taylor, President of the IWLCA and head coach at Le Moyne College. "Choosing a group of six honorees from among the many qualified nominees was no easy task. Collectively they personify the highest level of achievement in our sport, and have set a standard the rest of us aspire to reach. Their impact on their players, programs, institutions, and the larger lacrosse community cannot be overstated and we are pleased to be able to celebrate their legacy by enshrining them in our Hall of Fame."